A Day of Surprises - Going Up Down East - CycleBlaze

July 5, 2023

A Day of Surprises

Hancock to Brunswick

Today was a day filled with surprises coffee, OJ, two large bowls of Cherrios, a couple of small donut sticks, and two granola bars for the road.

Burp.

I bought some more water at the Dollar General in town then hit the rail trail out of town.

About 13 miles later I switched back over to the C&O Canal towpath. I was pleased to see it was in pretty good shape, a condition that would last only for another ten miles or so. Then the towpath became muddy again. Ugh.

After 30 miles I arrived at Williamsport where I expected to have an early lunch at the Desert Rose Cafe, but the Google informed me that it was permanently closed. It’s been a go-to spot for canal riders for ages. In 2015, we ordered sandwiches to go. When we unwrapped them we saw encouraging notes written on our napkins. Very thoughtful. So that was today’s disappointment.

I suppose it didn’t much matter since the direct way to get directly into Wlliamsport from the canal involves walking up and down stairs on either side of a footbridge over the canal. There’s a small rail to guide your wheels but it’s unusable with panniers. Once past town, there's a stair-less connection into town but by that point I had decided to move on.

This section is called Big Slackwater. The towpath runs right next to the Potomac with no barrier.
Heart 0 Comment 0

About ten miles from Williamsport a miracle happened. The towpath surface became nearly perfect. For the rest of the day. My speed popped up about three miles per hour and I could finally enjoy the scenery. The canal is really beautiful when your eyes aren’t focused on dodging puddles.

Hallelujah! Perfect towpath for miles and miles
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had some munchies in my handlebar bag and I made it a point to nibble on something every ten miles. One apple, some crackers with cheese, the granola bars. I was churning through calories faster than I could replace them. At about 54 miles I left the canal and crossed the Potomac to get some real food in Shepherdstown, West Virginia. (My eleventh state of this trip.)

I was cruising downtown in search of the Blue Moon Cafe when I heard someone call my name. There, standing on the sidewalk, was Kevin Wurster, a repeat member of the Rootchopper 50 States and Cider Ride posses. Kevin went to Shepherdstown University and was in town visiting friends over the 4th of July.

Kevin and me. What are the odds?
Heart 0 Comment 0

We had a long talk on the street, then he joined me later at the Blue Moon. I had a chicken cheese steak sandwich that was outstanding. The chocolate chip cookie I had for dessert was also darned good. As good as it was, I had a second dessert of a dish of ice cream at a shop a few blocks away as Kevin and I continued our serendipitous get together.

Now fully stuffed I bid Kevin goodbye and I headed back to the towpath, headed for Brunswick and yet another new Holiday Inn Express. I intend to lay waste to the breakfast bar in the morning.

The section of the towpath near Harpers Ferry is beautiful. It’s completely shaded. The river is full of rapids making a calming sound that lasts for about five miles. The gaps in the mountains make for dramatic scenery.

Rapids near Harpers Ferry
Heart 0 Comment 0
The view immediately downriver from Harpers Ferry
Heart 0 Comment 0

Before hitting the hay, I went over to Sheetz next door and bought two big bottles of Gatorade and some snacks. I have been having leg cramps for about a week so I decided to drown my muscles in water and panther piss.

Tomorrow I head for home. It’ll be another 70+ mile day.

Today's ride: 77 miles (124 km)
Total: 2,591 miles (4,170 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0