Two nights in Malwan - Bangladesh + India x 2 - CycleBlaze

January 12, 2011 to January 13, 2011

Two nights in Malwan

Vengurla and Southern Mararashtra State

Breakfast is at the same place next door. After that it's a walk back to Vengurla's small piece of sand where I take in the sights and fresh air before going back to my room and packing my bags. 

The wool top I washed yesterday at 5:00-ish is still damp. Not to worry.

Vengurla - my room was behind the white building on the left
Heart 0 Comment 0

It's hot already and 10 o'clock as I hand over the key and have a couple of cold drinks from the woman who's hosted me. This is a nice place: Vengurla.

A man is casting his large net off the jetty. Some children are being led around by their teacher for some reason. It's so peaceful.

Vengurla
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I ride and go back the two K to the small junction and swing left, then head north along a road that's empty and which rises and goes up for a long while, forcing me to use my little ring. 

It seems to be a state highway going by the signs I see. Not much traffic for a highway. 

Heart 0 Comment 0

I see nothing for minutes at a time - when I do it's a Honda motorbike usually. The riders often wave. Then a battered bus comes along that looks like it's from a Noddy cartoon. How do they keep these things roadworthy. It's a Leyland.

Up and down. It's hot.

The countryside is barren at the high points - almost like African plains with parched grass and very few trees, if any. A few low shrubs and the odd dwelling here and there, but no people around. I like it; so peaceful, raw and beautiful.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Where I'm going is the question: No idea. North... Mumbai - not today though. Maybe a week from now.

I ride. 

Heart 0 Comment 0

A shop of sorts appears and I stop for another cold drink and smell food being cooked, but the man serving says it's not too far to the town of somewhere... so I think I'll wait a while.

 The drink is nice and cold -makes me feel better.

 Malwan, that's the next place.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Malwan isn't written about much in the guide book and my map shows it as a small dot, so my hopes aren't very high. There must be a bed there though. If not there, then where? 

It's about four o'clock now and I feel about cooked, so I keep my fingers crossed.

The road drops from the cafe place and I soon get to the sea. It's not really visible, but you can sense it and there's a smell of fish. This is Malwan.

Malwan
Heart 0 Comment 0

First things first: another cold drink. 

It's not good to be rushing around looking for a room when your mind needs a break and your legs are weak, so after getting some cold drinks, I have an ice cream, then pedal around the couple of blocks that's Malwan.

Malwan
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

It's all laid-back.

I see an internet cafe and pop in to learn the guy also runs the hotel next door and he tells me rooms are Rs500, which sounds okay to my ears so I check in. My bike is put on the landing area. Game over.

The room is good with some decent space and I get out my laptop in pure hope and blow me if it doesn't work, so I stay up editing photos and later email Debbie to let her know my whereabouts: Malwan.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Day 2

It's not really light yet and I went to bed late, but as I'm awake I might as well get up and edit some more photos before breakfast. 

Malwan
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

The hotel where I ate last night is just a block away and I stroll there around 8-ish and have jam and toast with an omelette. 

The tea is English style, which makes a nice change. It's a teabag.

The sun is still low and I get my camera and shoot a few shots, then mess around on my laptop for ages and go to the Internet place a block away and wonder what to write about as I've really done nothing else but use my computer .

Heart 0 Comment 0
Boat
Heart 0 Comment 0
Boat
Heart 0 Comment 0

It'll be different tomorrow. Not sure where I'm going - north somewhere.

The maps I have are no good.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 50 km (31 miles)
Total: 3,085 km (1,916 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0