Kerala State - Bangladesh + India x 2 - CycleBlaze

December 21, 2010

Kerala State

a decent ride to Thrissur

Jaila's small lock-up is still locked up at 7:30 when I cycle past. Would you believe it's just a block from the Thaii Hotel. If only I'd known - but then I wouldn't have met Vinod and the others that made yesterday special.

I head south, then take a turn right onto a small road as there's a lot of traffic about and I want to escape from it pronto. This side road is better and after 15 minutes it seems I've got out of Coimbatore without much hassle.

My front wheel makes lefts and rights and generally leads me west and the road becomes a lane and then ends at a college. It's a cul-de-sac where the guard points me around, so I venture along an adjacent concrete path that's lined with basic homes where the occupants who are wandering around outside are clearly bemused at the sight of me pedaling by. It ends in a field - another cul-de-sac - and I repeat this a few times before finding myself on a dirt path. How do I do it?

Heart 0 Comment 0

At an intersection it seems that having a coconut juice will help as my breakfast near Coimbatore's train station was just a small coffee and a fried doughnut-shaped thing that I couldn't stomach, so that's what I do. It costs 15 rupees as opposed to 12 because I go for the more expensive golden-coloured variety on offer only to find if there's any difference. Nope.

I end up on a narrow ridge road which is very quiet with children making their way to school and there are a lot of hellos. It drops and eventually hits the main highway heading west, which I ride on for a while. This route undulates, but seems to go mostly down - not steeply - and it's fine by me. 

Heart 0 Comment 0

My speed is relatively high and my big ring is used for quite a while and it occurs to me that this would be nice if I were on a time trail. Perhaps there's a back-wind helping. 

There are high peaks to my right, a way off, standing up on the otherwise pretty even terrain.

Heart 0 Comment 0

This can't last and it seems best to get off this major truck route which is what I opt to do and make a left and follow a country road leading to wherever, which turns out to be a great move. I can't believe this and that few others are on it. 

I'm cycling west and it's must be around 25 to 28 degrees C - perfect cycling weather.

I bought some oranges and grapes and sat on the low wall and ate all the grapes
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I went straight
Heart 0 Comment 0

By 1:15 I'm in Chittur and there's a swanky hotel - The Regency - which isn't over the top with its rates at around a grand a room, but it's too early to call it a day and they reckon that there's a place another 15 km away, so I thank the guys gathered round me at reception, get back on my Brodie and ride off.

Twenty K later I realise that the hotel has eluded me, as has the town it's in when the nice country road joins a busy highway, so this is what I'm stuck with now. 

Heart 0 Comment 0

I stop a couple of times at roadside hotels, but decide to press on as they are isolated and unattractive and perhaps I will get to Thrissur even though it'll have been a long day for me.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Typical of the route -- until I hit the main road at about 3.30pm
Heart 0 Comment 0

The last 35 km are not ones I enjoy at all. 

This main artery is one to be avoided if you ever venture this way because there's not an inch of shoulder and there are a lot of big vehicles whooshing by with Whacky Races bus drivers being the most reckless and life-threatening. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

My room is good as you'd expect for 1,100 rupees -- yes, taking a cheaper lodge would save me money, but isn't an attractive option and in my opinion I deserve some comfort and space after all that angst and danger endured cycling here.

Thrissur
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 130 km (81 miles)
Total: 2,098 km (1,303 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0