Day 23: Todos Santos to Cabo San Lucas - Baja 2014 - CycleBlaze

December 21, 2014

Day 23: Todos Santos to Cabo San Lucas

Heart 0 Comment 0

I set the alarm so that I could get an early start. I took breakfast from the fridge at Oxxo and was on the road around 7 am. The road south is the same 4 lane highway with a nice wide shoulder that I enjoyed all the way from La Paz.

For the most part the road follows the coast, and then cuts inland a bit before making the entrance to Cabo San Lucas. There was a fair amount of climbing. Long stretches that were just difficult enough that one could feel good about having tackled them but not leaving you particularly tired at the end.

The entrance to Cabo San Lucas was, unfortunately, extremely ugly. The rape of the cape is an ongoing process and leaves nothing to be desired. In fact in my humble opinion the town is, to put it bluntly, a shit hole. Development run amok where the target clientele appears to be twenty year old binge drinkers. Perhaps the multitude of resorts that sit between the city core and the beach offer something nicer, but personally I found nothing to draw me to this place.

Except its spot on the map. In spite of my low opinion of the city, I can tell you I was grinning from ear to ear as soon as I spotted the end of the peninsula. And grinned all the way to the marina where I concluded this ride.

But now my ride is done, and I want to go home. I have a plane ticket 3 days from now, but have decided that I don't want to wait around for that. Nor do I want to have to deal with boxing up my bike for the plane and reassembling it after I land in San Diego. So, I have bought a bus ticket for Tijuana and am scheduled to leave tomorrow at 9:45 am, arriving 28 hours later. That may seem like a long bus ride, but I find that I am looking forward to riding past the places I have cycled through these past three weeks.

Santa's sleigh.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Farms south of Todos Santos
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Intriguing road-cut geology That white layer of rock almost certainly extended straight across before getting mushed aside.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My meso-american history must be rusty. I had no idea that Mayans lived in Baja. Or surfed.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Most of the coast was undeveloped. And for sale.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Evidence of the hurricane. The entrance to Todos Santos is lined with rows of uprooted trees like this.
Heart 0 Comment 0
No accounting for taste.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pretty. And dead.
Heart 0 Comment 0
No more land... this is the end!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Land's End as seen from the bowels of Cabo San Lucas
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
This poor old dog tried so hard to be mean to me, but he just didn't have the spark anymore.
Heart 0 Comment 0
booyah
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 1,061 miles (1,708 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0