Day 22: Todos Santos - Baja 2014 - CycleBlaze

December 20, 2014

Day 22: Todos Santos

The plan for today was to take it easy and do some Christmas shopping, and it was a successful day. But not without its moments.

This town is full of shops selling nice quality handicrafts, which is what I was hoping to acquire to give as gifts. Not inexpensive however. It could be that my bargaining skills are subpar, but I could barely wrangle any breaks in the asking price. Too many of us tourists here, I'm afraid. Anyway, I was all set to make a bulk buy of some items (can't spoil the surprise) and after settling on the price I went over to the bank to withdraw the necessary cash from the ATM. And, that was when I discovered I no longer had an ATM card.

Sigh. I expect I left it in the machine in La Paz. Fortunately, in 2014 this is more an inconvenience than a crisis. A quick call to my bank to cancel the card (and confirm it wasn't on a spending spree across Mexico), and a series of text messages back home and I was wired enough money to finish shopping with plenty left over to last me for the remainder of the trip.

I am more than ready to move on. As interesting as this town is, it isn't all that much fun by one's self. I wandered around for as long as my knees could take it (I can ride 1000 miles, but I can't walk 1000 feet) and then sat in the hotel bar sipping beer and watching American football on TV. Pathetic.

I love Mexican laundromats. You can wash the clothes yourself, or you can just hand the bundle to one of the attendants and come back in a couple of hours and collect it, all washed and folded. It costs less than $3 to wash everything I have so it's not a tough decision.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One tired doggy. I felt like that after wandering around for a couple of hours.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nativity scene in the plaza
Heart 0 Comment 0
Todos Santos at night. Kids skateboarding down the middle of the road.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The sign on the left of this building is another message against opening the mine. There are plenty of those here. Poor job creators, they never get a break!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Plenty of nice restaurants.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I opted for tacos instead.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0