Day 20: Los Pocitos to La Paz - Baja 2014 - CycleBlaze

December 18, 2014

Day 20: Los Pocitos to La Paz

Heart 0 Comment 0

I woke with the roosters at 5:47, but put my pillow over my head and managed to eke out another 30 minutes of sleep. I was hoping for an early start, but as I was packing my gear I found my rear tire was flat with two punctures. Goatheads all around the building. Not a problem, I am swimming in spares now. By the time I had the tube replaced it was 7 and the restaurant had opened so I stuck around for coffee and eggs and left around 8. No matter how I try, I always seem to leave around 8.

Today was more of the same. Long boring stretches, with rolling hills just to make one tired for no reason. I spent most of the day lost in my head. About 20 miles or so from La Paz I ran into some road construction. There was a rough, dusty stretch of about 2 or 3 miles, which wasn't any fun except that as I got passed by a truck pulling a camper who would I see but Chris and Heather from Ciudad Constitucion! It turns out that I dodged a bullet when the three of us went out for dinner two nights previous. We'd gone to a pizza place (the only restaurant in walking distance from the trailer park) and while I went vegetarian they had meat toppings. Both of them had come down with a violent case of food poisoning leaving them too weak to ride and were hitching a ride to La Paz with a German couple pulling a trailer. We stopped and chatted a bit and the Germans refilled my water bottles with ice water (cubes, even).

La Paz is a big, busy city. The only reason I went all the way in was to make it to the malecon, for no good reason other than to say I pedaled there. Not a good reason at all in retrospect, as I then had to turn and pedal back out to the entrance of the city to find a hotel that wasn't overpriced or too sleazy to contemplate (several hotels advertised hourly rates... no thanks, I'll not be laying my head there).

The day began with a flat tire
Heart 0 Comment 0
Half a snake is better than one!
Heart 0 Comment 0
A long day, listening to music and random noise from my head
Heart 0 Comment 0
Up and down, up and down.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The long anticipated road construction
Heart 0 Comment 0
Certainly not the most glamorous day of the trip
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heather and Chris. The Quesnel Bikers Very nice people. Before my trip I was following their blog to see how they managed the leg from Tijuana to Ensenada. When I read that they had to detour up the big hill at La Mision I made my decision to cross the border at Tecate.
Heart 0 Comment 0
"The German" He and his wife are spending a year cruising very slowly down Baja, staying for weeks at a time at various spots. They used to camp where Villa del Palmar is now...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Paying it forward! At an inspection point before La Paz I was approached by this man asking if I had a pump. One of the tires on his truck had a bad valve and the tire had gone flat. Have I got pumps! I have mine, I have Daniel's, and I have a fancy pump I bought in Guerrero Negro that is Presta/Schrader compatible without any need to convert. I bought it with the idea of gifting it to Daniel (haven't worked out how yet), and it worked just fine to get these guys going again.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
La Paz malecon. A bit of a letdown, frankly.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Plenty of new sculptures along the malecon
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oh, no! I've come too far to run into this! Leaving for Todos Santos tomorrow.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 70 miles (113 km)
Total: 965 miles (1,553 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0