Day 19: Ciudad Constitucion to Los Pocitos - Baja 2014 - CycleBlaze

December 17, 2014

Day 19: Ciudad Constitucion to Los Pocitos

Heart 0 Comment 0

I slept well in my bed and was up and out the door before 8. Chris and Heather were debating if they would ride today or not, Chris not feeling too well in the stomach and Heather was still nursing a dog bite from a few days previous in Loreto (dogs are a problem... I've taking to carrying a stick to wave around in addition to snarling at those buggers). I wished Chris and Heather well and set off.

I noticed that all the banks had big lines in front of them, and there were lots of police around as well. I stopped a passerby to ask what was going on and she explained that today everybody was getting their "aguinaldos". Aguinaldos are the end of the year bonus that everyone receives as part of their regular compensation package. In my day, when I worked in Ensenada, it was an extra month's pay. Not so shabby.

The ride was more of the same. Straight and dull. Not much to say about it. The high point was at the end of the day when I started looking for a place to sleep. I was pretty sure I was going to have to camp, and from conversation with various restaurant owners along the way was aiming for San Agustin, the last restaurant before La Paz. It would have given me a short day tomorrow, but before I got there as I was passing through Los Pocitos I spotted a restaurant that also advertised handicrafts and out in front was a wood frame bed strung with rawhide. On a whim I stopped and asked if they had any rooms. Don Manuel said "Yes, yes, we have a room. But first, sit down and eat." So I did. Manuel is a short man, and suffering from partial paralysis on one side, from a stroke.

He started making furniture as part of his recovery therapy and over the years built up a pretty interesting place. Unfortunately I don't have his picture. A really nice man.

My room was a stone building out back with a rawhide bed and a toilet and a bucket of water for flushing (no plumbing, no lights). Except for the fact that it was right next to the chicken coop, it was perfect. I had a comfortable evening, reading until late.

I didn't get very far before I came across this fruit cart. I just had to stop.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Watermelon, cantaloupe, papaya, pineapple, oranges, cucumber, jicama, chili and lime. Delicious!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oranges for sale on the way out of town. I should have bought some, but didn't have an easy way to carry them with my bags already overstuffed.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Most of the day was like this. Dull. The overcast sky was nice, though.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Did I miss a turn somewhere?
Heart 0 Comment 0
I had an early lunch here and discussed sleeping strategies with the owner. She confirmed there was no formal lodging available between here and La Paz.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Church in Santa Rita. The words on the right read "Pray for Us"
Heart 0 Comment 0
Finally, something is going to have to change with this road!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I stopped and watched a burro transfer for a bit
Heart 0 Comment 0
I had a nice chat with the folks at the KM 122 restaurant. Bernardino Jordan Lucero
Heart 0 Comment 0
And his mom, Reye Lucero Alvarez I promised to send them hard copies of the photos when I get back. Their address is "KM 122, Carretera Ciudad Constitucion - La Paz"
Heart 0 Comment 0
More Christmas decorations
Heart 0 Comment 0
Don Manuel's restaurant in Los Pocitos
Heart 0 Comment 0
inside
Heart 0 Comment 0
His "studio"
Heart 0 Comment 0
Home for the evening. Later I discovered that the yard was full of goathead thorns...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Very comfortable bed! I used my sleeping bag as a blanket.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Love that lantern!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 60 miles (97 km)
Total: 895 miles (1,440 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0