Day 18: Villa del Palmar to Ciudad Constitucion - Baja 2014 - CycleBlaze

December 16, 2014

Day 18: Villa del Palmar to Ciudad Constitucion

Heart 0 Comment 0

Up on the 7th floor and far from the highway I slept very well. I left the curtains open so that I would get up with the sun, as I didn't want to postpone climbing Sierra de la Giganta into the warmer hours. I was ready to go by 7, but that was when the breakfast buffet opened. I do so like a good breakfast buffet.

After making sure I got my money's worth I waddled out of the hotel around 8 and started the climb. As with every climb of note on this trip, the anticipation was worse than the deed. I have nice low gears, the road had plenty of switchbacks on the steepest part and my legs are stronger than when I started. After an hour of climbing, I had about 5 miles on the odometer when I looked over the hill and saw my hotel down below. I hadn't actually made any progress south, just up. The climb continued for about another 20 miles, but at a much gentler grade.

After crossing the mountains the road became mind numbingly dull, 30 miles of straight, flat road through drab cactus scrub and a bit of a headwind. The only break in the monotony was when a van sped past and someone I did not recognized yelled, "Hey, David!" waving, with a big grin. I *think* that Chris whom I last saw in Guerrero Negro was in the back. He's been wearing a beat up cowboy hat which gives him a distinctive silhouette, and such a silhouette was waving through the window. My guess is the pedal problems he'd been dealing with in Guerrero Negro had come to a head.

After a short break in Ciudad Insurgentes I continued on towards Ciudad Constitucion. I was trying to eat up as many miles as I could because there is really nothing of interest between Sierra de la Giganta and La Paz, and the only way to get past it was to ride, ride, ride. I got into Ciudad Constitucion near sundown and pulled into the first place with accommodations I came across. It's a trailer park, and I would have skipped it in favor of a hotel but for the fact that it advertised "room for rent". My goal is to not have to pitch my tent again on this trip, and the trailer park room was perfect. There I met Chris and Heather Hartridge, a pair of Canadians slowly working their way down to Nicaragua. We have been following each other's blogs on this site, and had an enjoyable evening together, swapping stories.

Crazy cactus on the side of the road heading back to the highway
Heart 0 Comment 0
Starting up
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking back after the steepest part was done
Heart 0 Comment 0
One hour into the ride and I am next to where I started from.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I had to climb up a bit to get the previous photo, and slipped on the way back down. I'm afraid it is cell phone pics only for the rest of this trip.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cruising the Sierra de la Giganta
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Workers trimming the grass on the side of the highway, using machetes.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sylvester, hamming it up for the camera. I asked about snakes, as I've seen several slithering into the grass. "Yes, we get them. But, you gotta do what you gotta do."
Heart 0 Comment 0
Had I known this spot existed I'd have stayed here instead of the resort. It is at the top of the steep part and has rooms for 200 pesos a night. KM 63 for anybody who's interested.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Decomposing lava flows
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was a weird spot. It looks as if the rocks are melted. I could not come up with an explanation.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm thinking UFOs
Heart 0 Comment 0
The climb is done
Heart 0 Comment 0
It was like this all the way to Cuidad Insurgentes.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Back in farm country
Heart 0 Comment 0
Green Angel These trucks cruise the highways looking for motorists in distress. If only they stocked bicycle tubes!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I wonder what gets processed at the Armageddon Processor?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hard to read, but this was on the wall outside a school. It reads "Effective suffrage, no reelection"
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 68 miles (109 km)
Total: 835 miles (1,344 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0