Day 17: Loreto to Villa del Palmar - Baja 2014 - CycleBlaze

December 15, 2014

Day 17: Loreto to Villa del Palmar

Heart 0 Comment 0

I slept until about 8 and then got up and packed without any clear plan for the day. I had initially intended to take a rest day here, but had already had my fill of the town by 10 am. I started pedaling south, not really sure where I was going to stop.

By the time I got to Ligui, about 25 miles south of Loreto it was clear I was going to have to either stop now or camp in the desert. Ligui is at the start of the last significant climb of this route. I don't expect it to be particularly difficult, but it should take hours. Since I left Loreto so late, there was no way I could get to the next town, Ciudad Insurgentes, before dark. Unlike Valle de Los Cirios, traffic here is more substantial and riding at night did not appeal to me.

My choices then were to camp in Ligui or camp on the other side of the hill. I saw on my map that there was a hotel a few miles off the road, and google revealed it to be some sort of resort. That had a nice sound to it.

OK, I admit it. I am a wimp.

A wimp with a credit card.

Morning fisherman
Heart 0 Comment 0
Leaving Loreto. I have to cross those hills tomorrow. I hope it is cloudy like it was today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
"If you drink don't drive" I kind of doubt that sign does much good.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I've seen several of these scurrying around in the rocks. This is the first I've come across moving slowly enough to photograph.
Heart 0 Comment 0
With the tip of my shoe for scale. I don't think they jump.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ligui, as I ride over to check out Villa del Palmar
Heart 0 Comment 0
I wonder if they have biker rates?
Heart 0 Comment 0
They do! (not really, but I was able to get a significant break over Orbitz)
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm almost embarrassed. The jacuzzi was nice.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Isla Danzante
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 27 miles (43 km)
Total: 767 miles (1,234 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0