Day 16: Playa Buenaventura to Loreto - Baja 2014 - CycleBlaze

December 14, 2014

Day 16: Playa Buenaventura to Loreto

Heart 0 Comment 0

I was up with the sun, but it took a long time to pack up and get going. The ride was mostly flat, except for one short climb, but the day ended with what seemed to be a lot of rollers. Up and down with no elevation gain to show for it. But, it could just be that I was dragging and it only felt that way. After a calm morning I caught a stiff headwind and there is no great pleasure in having to pedal downhill. By the time I got to Loreto in the late afternoon I was more than ready to stop.

My biggest impression from the ride to Loreto was all the butterflies! After cresting the hill that takes you away from the bay there was a long stretch where the bushes next to the road were alive with butterflies of all shapes, sizes and colors. I must have seen thousands.

I cycle at butterfly speed, it turns out.

Loreto has an international airport so there are lots of tourists, America and Canadian mostly. Walking around the central part of this very picturesque town the dominate language you hear is English. I don't generally like such places because I always get the feeling I am considered prey. Not in any threatening sense, just that I am seen as a source of income and nothing more. I get it, I just don't have to like it.

I found a hole in the wall hotel (of sorts... I was the only guest) that had nothing to offer except that it was quiet. I had my best sleep of the trip so far.

Morning at Playa Buenaventura
Heart 0 Comment 0
Zorra spent the whole night next to my tent. I felt well protected.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Breakfast on the beach
Heart 0 Comment 0
I wasn't the only one having breakfast on the beach
Heart 0 Comment 0
If I had to be a bird, I think I'd pick pelican
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pedaling away from Playa Buenaventura
Heart 0 Comment 0
Last look back at Bahia Concepcion
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Come on, open those wings!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
There is a story in those rocks. I don't know what it is, but it was very energetic.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm pretty sure that wall of rock is a dike. Magma injected into cracks of older rock, then cooled slowly. The original rock has eroded away leaving the harder injected material behind.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Me gusta la Baja!
Heart 0 Comment 0
This two year old was having lunch with her family at the next table. She spent the whole time with her legs tucked up in the chair because her older brother kept telling her the rooster would peck her feet. Such is the lot in life for younger siblings.
Heart 0 Comment 0
After the hurricane passed through an old spring started up again, causing this section of road to flood.
Heart 0 Comment 0
So many butterflies!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I stopped here for drinks and heard about the Belgians who passed through two days earlier. Note the bed on the left.
Heart 0 Comment 0
It was so cool in the shade and I was so tired. I wanted that bed!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Loreto comes into view
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Loreto malecon
Heart 0 Comment 0
Loreto Mission was completed in 1697
Heart 0 Comment 0
Authentic Aztec belly dancing in the plaza
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm not feeling Christmas
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 58 miles (93 km)
Total: 740 miles (1,191 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0