Words for the Road - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs - CycleBlaze

Words for the Road

I’d like to share with you the words of acclaimed bike tourist Iohan Gueorguiev when he first set off on his PanAmerican tour in the dead of the Canadian winter. I’ve modified them slightly to fit my own trip, but the sentiment stands:

“Let me take you along for a ride.

But not the kind you would see at the movies, on TV,
Or on the cover of National Geographic.
There is no pack list, rationed food
Or a breakdown of where I’ll sleep every night.
The set is the vast expanse of Central and South America,
The director, the unpredictable weather,
The stars, the people I meet on the way,
And the script, the open road,
and whatever it throws at me."

Iohan tragically took his life in 2021 following a battle with insomnia. Despite his passing, his words continue to ring true, and I will use them as my own form of guidance and inspiration as I set forth on my own adventure and draw my own line on the map.
Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Lorenzo JaryI still can't believe it about Iohan 😭 so tragic. I can't really describe what he meant to me and I'm sure many others. Such a loss.

Your trip sounds amazing! I'm looking forward to reading about it.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonType your comment here
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeremy NolanTo Scott AndersonHey Scott, wasn't sure if you intended on commenting something different :)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Jeremy NolanHuh. I could have, but I don’t remember even doing that. It must have been late last night when I was dozing off. Maybe my nose hit the iPad at the wrong spot.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago