Pre-Trip Prep: T-minus 12 days - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs - CycleBlaze

May 30, 2022

Pre-Trip Prep: T-minus 12 days

With my departure to Panama City rapidly approaching, I thought it would be wise to take my bike on another test-ride before boxing it up. So, on Memorial Day I packed my bags with all of my gear and made my way to Nate Harrison Grade, a relentless gravel climb up the south side of Palomar Mountain that would serve as a solid test of how everything will hold up on Central and South America's cobbled backroads. 

Loaded up and ready to ride!
Heart 1 Comment 0

I've managed to pare down to the bare essentials on this trip, which should serve me well on some of the Andean climbs we are certain to seek out. I have my tent, sleeping pad, tent, and most of my clothing stored in the front handlebar roll. In the seat post bag I have stored my drone, camera, and miscellaneous gear (e.g., water filter, toiletries, alcohol stove), with my fleece serving as padding for the bumpy roads. The frame bag is reserved for spare bike parts and tools, along with storage for food and snacks. The top tube bag is for any other assorted items that I may end up needing space for. It's a good start for a setup that is likely to evolve as our trip progresses. Total weight without food and water: approximately 46 pounds.

Nate Harrison Grade is a personal favorite of mine, and today was no exception. The sky was clear and a warm wind was blowing as I made my way up through citrus groves and chaparral. While I chose not to complete the full ascent to the fire lookout this time around, I still managed to climb 2,500ft in 5.5 miles. The bike performed flawlessly, even as its engine sweat buckets. The descent back to Pauma Valley was rough, but everything felt steady and held up just fine. I also managed to get in some practice flying my drone and capturing some of the scenery, which you can see here. All-in-all, with 12 days remaining, I feel confident with my setup and my ability to tackle any of the climbs that may come my way. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0