Reflection #4: what has this journey given me? - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

July 15, 2016

Reflection #4: what has this journey given me?

(Note: my intention with these reflections is to record little nuggets of thought that I've been having and would like to revisit when finished.)

Sitting on a bike saddle for 3,174 miles has a way making you think. A lot. The great plains were a particularly thought-provoking experience, largely because there was little else on which to focus my mind. I would get lost in transient trains of thought for hours and hours.

I've found myself repeatedly evaluating how my journey, up to this point, has influenced my initial reasons for wanting to bike the US. I started off with very simple reasons (see the trip FAQs): I'm young; the timing is ideal; I've got a job lined up in August; I want to see the country; etc. All of these are good reasons, yes. But throughout this trip I've found myself becoming more aware of different reasons as well.

Deep down, I wanted this trip to be a test of what I am capable of. It has proven to be an immense test of physical, mental, and emotional stamina. In the 48 days since I've started pedaling, I've become more attune to my surroundings, more capable in the face of physical challenges, more willing to push myself when necessary, and more willing to take the time to relax and reflect when needed. I feel more present and purposeful, in-tune with myself and my interactions with my surroundings.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0