Reflection #2: the altruism of those you meet - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

June 18, 2016

Reflection #2: the altruism of those you meet

This, as you know, is my first bike tour, and I've bitten off a lot to chew. Yet there is one thing that has continually made my journey thus far a little more manageable and a LOT more enjoyable: the altruism of those I've met.

I've had people stop to give me cold water on hot days; I've had complete strangers open their homes and pantries to me and my many smells and messes; I've had fellow cyclists give me equipment and advice when I was in a bind; I've had canpers give me prayers and blessinds; the list goes on and on and on.

Perhaps it's because bike tourists are a rate funky breed that ignite the curiosity of others. Or perhaps it's the fact that what we are doing is so far removed from what others would consider "fun" or "a good use of vacation time." Whatever it may be, those I've met have astounded me with their concern, desire to help, curiosity, and goodwill.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0