Reflection #1: have no expectations for what is to come - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

June 7, 2016

Reflection #1: have no expectations for what is to come

With just over a week of my journey complete, I'd like to reflect a bit on some of my experiences, thoughts and observations. The most important lesson I've taken away from these first 5p0 miles is the following:

have no expectations for what is to come.

What do I mean by this? Well, let me use an example: looking at the maps, it's easy to have some expectations for the scenery and the terrain that is to come. And often, these expectations are true. But they're always ever-so-slightly different, and as a result of these differences the places are usually more engaging and exciting to experience. McKenzie Pass is a prime example. I knew the pass would be beautiful, steep, and mountainous. But the scenery simply blew my mind, in a way I never saw coming.

Same goes for the people I've met along the way. In Willamina, I had a somewhat questionable camping situation. Yet this woman, a complete stranger to me, let me into her backyard, and the following morning other strangers offered me a free breakfast. All in a little off-the-beaten-path logging town. How was I to expect that? Or my current hostel situation in Mitchell, a town of 138? I've met such inspiring, vivacious people here, in a location that was unexpected.

So, as I sit here listening to a fellow cyclists play the guitar in the basement of the hostel, I remind myself: don't think too much about the future. Embrace whatever is to come with open arms, a bad tan, and beautiful legs.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0