POST-TRIP TRAVELS: "Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, and [eventually] home" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

August 9, 2016

POST-TRIP TRAVELS: "Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, and [eventually] home"

With the cycling portion of my trip officially over, I spent two days with my mom and cousins exploring Yorktown and Jamestown. They're FASCINATING, and I highly recommend staying for a day or two when you finish the route to explore the historic triangle. I also recommend getting your bike packed up for shipping at Bikes Unlimited in Williamsburg. They were a little pricey ($50), but did a fantastic job, which I really appreciated when I saw luggage being tossed onto my bike in San Diego.

We stayed at a quaint bed and breakfast (!) named the Marl Inn. I definitely recommend it. After 72 days of sleeping on a sleeping pad, couches, or nothing at all, I was quite happy to have a big comfy bed, a regular shower, and air conditioning.

On August 11 we drove down to Georgia, where my cousins live. I got my Mexican visa at the Mexican consulate in Atlanta, we explored Centennial Olympic Park and the World of Coke-Cola, and ate plenty of southern food.

I flew back to San Diego on August 13 on Southwest Airlines. It costs $75 to ship a bike with them, which is what I would have paid on BikeFlights.com. The next week at home will be spent preparing for my coming year in Mexico, catching up with friends and family, and enjoying the San Diego sun.

I think I'll leave the blog update here for now. I'll be doing a gear review next, as well as general thoughts on the trip, suggestions, and advice for future TransAm riders.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0