DAY 8: Mckenzie Bridge to Smith Rock State Park: "Somehow I took a wrong turn and ended up on the moon" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

June 6, 2016

DAY 8: Mckenzie Bridge to Smith Rock State Park: "Somehow I took a wrong turn and ended up on the moon"

DAILY STATS:

Mileage: 68.33

Average Speed: 10.9mph

Maximum Speed: 33.7mph

Today we conquered the first big test of the TransAm: Mckenzie Pass. Nicole left camp around 5:30 to get a head start. I left just before 8, confident with my climbing ability. The 4000' climb was intense, but entirely manageable. I got to the summit in three hours, with a few snack and water breaks.

The road is closed to cars until June 20th, meaning I've got this whole stretch to myself. It was unbelievable. The type of day that cyclists dream of.
Heart 1 Comment 0

What. A. Place. Every corner of this pass was unbelievable. A recent (geologically speaking) lava flow made the whole placell look like the surface of the moon.

This scenery was breathtaking. Literally. It was a tough, wheezy climb. But I think I'm out of alergy country!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The summit!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
A fellow TransAm rider left behind this note on the summit sign. It made my day.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Three Sisters.
Heart 0 Comment 0
You could see many of the Cascade volcanoes, including Mount Hood, Mount Jefferson, and Mount Washington.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm over the moon right now (hehe).
Heart 0 Comment 0

After this climb, the descent into Sisters was wonderful. Being out of water, I was parched, so I ran into the nearest store, which happened to be an ice cream parlor. Yesssss.

The view just outside of Sisters. This town is sweet!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nomnomnom.
Heart 1 Comment 0

After my delicious stop, Nicole and I reconvened and stayed in a grocery store whIke the worst of the afternoon heat passed. Around 4pm, we departed under the approaching thunderclouds.

Gosh darn ithing, why is Oregon so pretty? A parting shot of the Three Sisters.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We rolled into Smith Rock State Park around 7pm, content with the day. This campsite is awesome! Only $5 and FREE SHOWERS, which on this trip are much appreciated.

Sunset at Smith Rock. Anot amazing end to an amazing day.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 68 miles (109 km)
Total: 399 miles (642 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0