DAY 72: Elko to Yorktown: "V is for victory, and victory is for me" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

August 9, 2016

DAY 72: Elko to Yorktown: "V is for victory, and victory is for me"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 65.08

Average Speed:

Maximum Speed:

Today was the day that I have pictured in my mind ever since departing Astoria. It was the day that I imagined while slogging though the rain, while sweating in the heat, while freezing in the sleet, while screaming at the mosquitoes, flat tires, and steep hills.

I made it to Yorktown, and I couldn't be happier.

So, how did this day go? I had a nicer breakfast with my (last) warmshower host, and hit the trail. Today took me along the beautiful Virginia Capital Trail. I stopped at a cafe along the trail, where fellow cyclists bought me a meal, AND a freelance journalist interviewed me for the Washington Post.

My two closest companions on the trail.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Soon it started to get glorious whiffs of salty air, and I cried. I knew my journey would soon be at an end, and I just wanted to keep living in the moment. My mom called, and we agreed to meet at the Yorktown Victory Monument around 3:30pm. I shifted my cadence, and took some time in Williamsburg to look around.

Heart 0 Comment 0

And then it began: my final, 13 mile push to Yorktown. I reveled in the beauty of the day, and reminisced on the adventure I would soon be concluding. I cried at some points. Happy tears, but tears nonetheless.

After briefly getting lost on the Colonial Parkway, I turned up onto Main Street in Yorktown and arrived at the Victory Monument, after pedaling 4558 miles from Astoria.

Heart 0 Comment 0

My mom and two cousins were there to welcome me in as well!

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

After much mingling at the monument, I biked back to the beach to dip my front wheel in the water, thus completing my journey.

Heart 0 Comment 0

The rest of the day was spent going to dinner, checking into the bed and breakfast, and chatting with friends and family.

Not a bad place to end, I gotta say.
Heart 0 Comment 0

More reflections, gear reviews, and general trip insights will be coming in the next few days. But for now, it's time to savor the magic that is finishing the TransAmerica Trail.

Today's ride: 65 miles (105 km)
Total: 4,555 miles (7,331 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0