DAY 70: Palmyra to Ashland: "Slowing down and enjoying these final few days" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

August 7, 2016

DAY 70: Palmyra to Ashland: "Slowing down and enjoying these final few days"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 76.43

Average Speed: 12.3 mph

Maximum Speed: 32.1 mph

I had a sad realization this morning: this would be my last church stay on the TransAm. Today I would be staying behind a bike shop in Ashland, and the day after that I got a warmshower in X. And then what? Well, I'll be in Yorktown. My trip is almost over, and I have so many mixed feelings about it that will soon be making their way into the blog.

So, how was my third-to-last day on the road? To keep it short, it was wonderful. There was a nice breeze out of the north, and it was just the right temperature. Clouds filled the skies, and my route took me through all sorts of interesting landacapes: deciduous and coniferous forests, farmland, riparian habitats, and quaint little towns and houses.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Ugh go away corn. I'm sick of looking at you and your spindly, lanky stalks.
Heart 0 Comment 0
An excellent morning sky.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was one of the prettiest barns I've seen on the trail.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I got in to Ashland by 3pm, and went to a grocery store to resupply on what should be my last stock of groceries. Afterwards, I got a bite to eat and made my way to the bike shop. I set up my tent, and was soon inundated with mosquitoes. Well, I guess if it's going to be my last night camping, I may as well embrace them. After all, they have been a significant experience on this trip!

For those of you in Southern California that are interested in hearing more about my trip, I'll be hosting a get-together at my house on August 20th between 11am-4pm. I'd love to meet you! If you are interested, please send me a private message on Facebook (link in the blog) so that I can send you my address!

Today's ride: 76 miles (122 km)
Total: 4,453 miles (7,166 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0