DAY 69: Afton to Palmyra: "Feeling like a sweaty Snow White" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

August 6, 2016

DAY 69: Afton to Palmyra: "Feeling like a sweaty Snow White"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 54.63

Average Speed: 12.6 mph

Maximum Speed: 34.5 mph

Gosh darn it. The humidity is back, exacting its sweaty misery on me and those unfortunate enough to smell me. But, with only a few days to go, I think I can handle it.

Today took me through the rolling Piedmont amongst peach and apple orchards. I saw a fox, countless deer, vultures, butterflies, turtles, you name it. I felt like Snow White.

Heart 0 Comment 0

After snacking in Charlottesville, I rode to the Monticello visitor center. I saw the museum and informational video before trying to go to the actual grounds to look at the building. I was disappointed to learn that doing so is only possible with the purchase of a $25 ticket. So I disappointingly mounted my bike to continue, stopping briefly only to see about visiting Ash Lawn. It too required a pricey ticket.

Heart 0 Comment 0

However, because I didn't stay to see these sites, I saved money and avoided an intense afternoon thunderstorm. I called to stay at the Palmyra United Methodist Church, and was warmly taken in by Carol and Jerry. They both fed me a delicious dinner, and we went swimming in their lake before lightning made us quickly exit. After a few hours with them, I was left in the church. I'm gonna miss staying in places like these.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 55 miles (89 km)
Total: 4,377 miles (7,044 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0