DAY 68: Vesuvius to Afton: "Exploding thighs reap foggy vistas" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

August 5, 2016

DAY 68: Vesuvius to Afton: "Exploding thighs reap foggy vistas"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 46.52

Average Speed: 11.2 mph

Maximum Speed: 33.1 mph

Today's the day. I conquered Vesuvius, and I can put the Appalachians behind me. Now nothing stands between me and the Atlantic, save for some rolling piedmont and tidewater trails.

I awoke to gray skies, but it wasn't raining. Of course, by the time I hit the road at 7:30, it was. Sigh.

Getting pumped for the climb.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The road climbed slowly to the town of Vesuvius. By the time I got into town, the rain had largely subsided. I turned right and started the four miles climb, ready to see what all the talk was about.

Looking up the valley from Vesuvius. Somewhere in there lies the climb.
Heart 0 Comment 0
And so the road goes, ever upward.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The first mile was tough, with some significant, long grades. But, as I got into a rhythm, the climb seemed to become less and challenging. Was I sweating, out of breath, and massaging a side cramp? Yes. But it was soon over. I had climbed Vesuvius, and I was on the Blue Ridge Parkway. Dang I was happy.

The face of an accomplished cyclist.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The parkway was incredible. There was dense, impenetrable fog for a long portion of the ride, which made its way through the trees and around hills and mountains.

Heart 0 Comment 0

When the fog did break, I was treated to incredible views down into the surrounding valleys.

Enjoying the sunshine and view.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Soon, the fog was back. I turned off the parkway and headed downhill to the famed house of the "cookie lady." The cookie lady was a true TransAm trail angel, hosting and feeding passing cyclists for decades. While she has passed away, a woman named Hope now takes care of the house.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Unfortunately, I missed the house and descended two miles before realizing my mistake. I begrudgingly trekked back uphill, and found the house just as the rain started falling. What a place. It's full of memorabilia from thousands of cyclists: shirts, water bottles, flags, pennants, postcards, hats, maps, etc. Everything. I'm just a speck on the map of people that have come through here. It's amazing to be in the company of so many cyclists that have taken part in such a grand adventure.

This is just one of four rooms full of memorabilia.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I spent a lazy afternoon here, reading and updating the blog. I also received my placement for my year in Mexico. I'll be working at the Instituto tecnologico superior de Calkiní en el estado de Campeche. For you non spanish-speakers, what that means is that I'll be teaching at the Calkiní Technological Institute in the state of Campeche. The question now is...do I bring my bike?

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 4,322 miles (6,956 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0