DAY 67: Catawba to Vesuvius: "If I was any wetter, I'd probably be a fish" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

August 4, 2016

DAY 67: Catawba to Vesuvius: "If I was any wetter, I'd probably be a fish"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 76.47

Average Speed: 12.9 mph

Maximum Speed: 31.6 mph

Anyone that has spent time being active in the rain probably knows of the joys of rainproof clothing. And by joys, I mean miseries. You see, when wearing rainproof clothing, you sweat. A lot. You may avoid getting wet from the rain, but sweat so much that you end up just as wet from your own sweat and secretions. And that's gross.

I bring this up because of today's weather patterns. If it wasn't drizzling, it was raining. If it wasn't raining, it was pouring. It got cold enough at times to warrant wearing the rain jacket, but within a few minutes I'd be sweating buckets, and would take it off, only to be inundated with rain. I changed in and out of my rain jacket more times today than on any other day on the trail.

The result of all this sogginess? I only got two pictures while riding.

Wet.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Still wet.
Heart 0 Comment 0

On the upside, I spoke with a local rider who was very encouraging about my progress. He was also very positive about a lingering fear of mine: Vesuvius.

What is Vesuvius, you may ask? Well, let me tell you what I've heard, for there are many things to be said.

Vesuvius is the last town before climbing onto the Blue Ridge Parkway. Some say it's the hardest climb on the TransAm. Westbound cyclists have told me that, while descending, the grade and switchbacks are so severe that those with rim brakes feared they would overheat their rims and MELT HOLES into their inner tubes. While climbing, there's no respite, no convenient place to assuage screaming muscles and cramps. I was slowly trying to pump myself up, for tomorrow I conquered this mysterious behemoth. This cyclist was reassuring, reminding me that I have already crossed the Rockies and the Ozarks. Why should I fear one little climb in the Appalachians? We'll see tomorrow how convincing his words were.

Anyways, I digress. After 76 damp, sweaty, grimy, hilly miles, I made it to Mallard Duck Campground, about 8 miles before the fearful climb. I set up under the pavillion with Helen, Lynn, and Bruce.

One picture cannot truly convey the deeply penetrating misery of riding in the pouring rain for 6 hours.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I strung up a line to dry our clothes on. We all then enjoyed making our own dinners nd swilling a small portion of the bourbon that was purchased at a distillery back in Kentucky. The rain slowly dissipated, and we went to bed among crickets and fireflies. I quite enjoyed sleeping out on a picnic table, and not in the confines of my tent. It's been awhile since I've done that.

Today's ride: 76 miles (122 km)
Total: 4,275 miles (6,880 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0