DAY 66: Blacksburg to Catawba: "In the land of perpetual sogginess and chickens" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

August 3, 2016

DAY 66: Blacksburg to Catawba: "In the land of perpetual sogginess and chickens"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 35.99

Average Speed: 11.5 mph

Maximum Speed: 31 mph

Holy moly was it raining this morning. I got all packed up (or so I thought), thanked Michael and Jane, and headed 4 miles into downtown for breakfast. While enjoying my filing respite from the rain, Michael called me to tell me I forgot my toiletries. So I grumpily trekked the four miles back to retrieve my bag, and four miles into town to link back onto the main route.

The riding, while wet, was stunning. My short route today took me through the Catawba Valley, where clouds wound their way through the hollows and along the fields. The rain would clear up periodically, letting me enjoy the scenery even more.

Prepping for the rainy weather!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Bug is handling the weather just swimmingly.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I soon turned off route to get to the Four Pines Hostel, a popular hangout of Appalachian Trail hikers (and chickens). There, I reconvened with Helen, Lynn, and Bruce. It was a...unique place. Very grungy and dirty, with chickens running around everywhere. Definitely not what I expected. It was packed with Appalachian Trail hikers, who apparently like to party a lot. As a result of all of this, it was a long, noisy night. But at least I was inside and dry!

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 36 miles (58 km)
Total: 4,199 miles (6,758 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0