DAY 61: Lookout to Rosedale (Virginia): "My legs are glistening representations of bodily perfection" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

July 29, 2016

DAY 61: Lookout to Rosedale (Virginia): "My legs are glistening representations of bodily perfection"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 61.53

Average Speed: 11.8 mph

Maximum Speed: 34.7 mph

The civil engineers in the Rockies were very methodical and calculating to ensure that their mountain passes were reasonably-graded. On the other hand, civil engineers in the Appalachians--presumably drunk on moonshine or some other logic-reducing substance--seemed to seek out the shortest route possible over their mountains, disregarding the physical weariness and/or muscular ability of future pedal-powered tourists.

Such was the plight facing me this morning. My route today was almost entirely uphill, and I was nervous to see just HOW uphill the climbs would be.

I quietly tip-toed out of the church at 7am, careful not to wake the sleeping youngsters. The morning was beautiful: fog clung to the hillsides as morning dew dripped quietly onto the pavement. The roads were slick and, as a result, what downhill sections I did have had to be maneuvered with trepidation.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Despite the poverty, towns in eastern Kentucky really do welcome cyclists. I look this in Elkhorn City, just before the Virginia border.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Simply amazing.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I passed through the last bit of Kentucky and entered Virginia (!) at Breaks Interstate Park. In reality, I'm not sure if I was more excited to enter Virginia or to be leaving Kentucky. It was an eye-opening experience, to say the least.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

The climbs really weren't that bad. At certain parts they can be steep, yes, but in all I found the Ozarks to be harder (knock on wood). Before my largest (and final) climb of the day, I stopped in a convenience store to refill my water bottles. The woman at the counter asked where I was headed. When I told her Rosedale, her eyes widened and she just said "oh, God bless you honey" while making a steep, twisting motion with her hand. Needless to say, her words were not particularly reassuring.

But, as I started working up the hill, I was happy to find it wasn't bad at all. I really do think I've made the Appalachians out to be much worse in my mind than they really are.

And so, after a lovely downhill stretch, I made it to the Methodist Church a few miles outside of Rosedale. They've been hosting cyclists since the first Transamerica groups in 1976. It was fun to read the cyclists logs and look at the pictures of people and their equipment.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I had loads of time left in the day, so I made myself a nicer dinner, played piano, and read outside under the pavillion. It was raining, and the sound of it patting all around me was marvelous. I also started to plan a trip to Shenandoah National Park. It's right off the Blue Ridge Parkway, so I figured I'd spend a day or two out there since I've got so much time before August 10th!

Today's ride: 62 miles (100 km)
Total: 3,985 miles (6,413 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0