DAY 59: Booneville to Hindman: "A significant change of pace" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

July 27, 2016

DAY 59: Booneville to Hindman: "A significant change of pace"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 69.11

Average Speed: 11.5 mph

Maximum Speed: 36.3 mph

Today was decidedly more "hick" than yesterday. So, to continue what I did in yesterday's blog, I present you with today's suggested listening. Look at that kid go!

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=I3qbB4Kq3Y0

I woke at 5:30, hoping to get an early start to the day. But, much to the delight of my exhausted body, there was dense fog, so I decided to play it safe and let the fog burn off.

The fog just before I left.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Two hours passed,and with the fog slowly dissipating I hit the road. It was much more hilly today, but the trees have me a much needed break from the sun.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

The descents were a blast as I'd weave my way along down the road. I had a big smile on my face, especially when the crazy banjo music came on. That the dogs were less active today also made the ride more relaxing (although there were still a few).

Kudzu, an invasive vine, was everywhere!
Heart 0 Comment 0

About 30 miles into today's ride, the poverty of the region became very evident. Every house seemed to be a ramshackle mobile home, surrounded by old, rusting cars. Trash littered the roadside, and what people I did see seemed themselves jaded, distant, and broken. The collapse of the coal industry has hit Appalachia hard, and here it made itself known. This stretch lasted for some 10 miles or so, before slowly clearing away.

I took few stops today, in the hopes of avoiding the approaching, mean-looking thunderclouds. I made it to Hindman by 3pm, and went to a cyclist bed and breakfast run by a fellow named Randy. I did laundry (thank goodness) and washed up, before heading downtown to look at the art and watch folks make guitars and mandolins.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Beautiful mandolins at the Appalachian Artisan Center.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

I spent the remainder of the evening reading and worrying about the weather. As I write this, thunder is rattling the windowpanes and lightning is lighting up the room. It's slated to be pretty nasty tomorrow, which means I may have to stay here and wait out the storm. I don't like feeling stuck like this, but if it means being safe and secure, I'll take it. Just have to play it by ear in the morning!

Today's ride: 69 miles (111 km)
Total: 3,872 miles (6,231 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0