Day 57: rest day in Berea - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

July 25, 2016

Day 57: rest day in Berea

A rest day was definitely in order after yesterday's fiascos. And, lucky for me, Berea was just the right town to be in.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I packed my bike and left the fire department, headed for a coffee shop I saw while entering the town. I ate quiche and a delicious blueberry scone, and drank copious amounts of coffee, all while updating the blog and writing postcards. I sent a total of 17 today, and have a few more to go!

You may have one of these coming your way!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I also spent some time exploring the college and the student-run stores and shops. The college does a great job highlighting Appalachian culture. I do wish more colleges and universities were run like Berea College! Plus, it's a beautiful campus. It reminded me a lot of Whitman.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

In the early afternoon I headed over to the supermarket and stocked up on goods for the next few days. I managed to not go overboard too! When I was preparing to leave, thunder shook the building, and the rain started its soggy barrage on the earth. I waited it out inside, before making my way over to my host's place.

This was my first time using Couchsurfing instead of Warmshowers. It's the same basic principle, and I've been happy with it. I stayed with Eric, a Berea alum and veteran. He was super friendly, and we chatted for quite some time. We even spent time watching the Democratic National Convention. Luckily, we both have very similar political views, which was a relief to me, given the fact that I am entering deeply-conservative country.

Before going to bed, Eric was also nice enough to make me dinner. I am definitely feeling well-fed and ready to conquer the looming Appalachians!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0