Day 55: Mammoth Cave National Park to Springfield: "I'm getting tired of eating like crap" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

July 23, 2016

Day 55: Mammoth Cave National Park to Springfield: "I'm getting tired of eating like crap"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 91.22

Average Speed: 12.9 mph

Maximum Speed: 32.2 mph

I woke up at 6am, hoping to capitalize on the cooler morning weather. While taking down my tent, I realized that I may have placed it in a bit of poison oak. I couldn't get a clear identification, so for my own sanity I'll just assume it was some other three-leaved species.

The potentially-fateful campsite.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I exited the park from the south, and stopped in Cave City to get breakfast. Mistake number one: sitting in the smoking section of the diner (I didn't even know that still existed). Mistake number two: getting the veggie omelette. It was really just Velveeta with some eggs and peppers. I took two bites before realizing how bad it was. So, with only a cup of coffee and two pancakes in my system, I headed back to the main route. Traffic was nearly nonexistent, and I sailed north with ease, save for a few dog encounters. Seriously, if there are any folks from Kentucky reading this blog, please get your state to help fix or alleviate this problem. It's a public health risk!

This part of Kentucky is known as the "Lmobs" for the little hills that are all around.
Heart 0 Comment 0

By 12pm I was nearing my intended destination. I decided to press on to Springfield, and justified my decision by swearing that I'd take a rest day in Berea.

So, with the heat index kissing 107, I plowed on. And along my way I realized something: I was lonely. This adventure has been unbelievable, and I've enjoyed sharing it via this blog. Yet there's something about directly sharing these experiences with others.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I got to Springfield, exhausted and drenched, and enjoyed a "smoothie" from McDonalds before setting up in the public park. I'm writing this in my tent with beads of sweat covering me from head to toe. I'm in desperate need of a shower, and am looking forward to my time on the Berea fire station tomorrow.

Today's ride: 91 miles (146 km)
Total: 3,667 miles (5,901 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0