DAY 5: Corvallis to Eugene: "Mennonites, leaky orifices, and a penguin suit: all in a day's ride" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

June 3, 2016

DAY 5: Corvallis to Eugene: "Mennonites, leaky orifices, and a penguin suit: all in a day's ride"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 49.65

Average Speed: 12.05

Maximum Speed: 20.8

Were it not for the maps in front of me or the mountains in the distance, I would've sworn I was in the Midwest today. The whole ride was through flat farmlands that were chock full of nuts, berries, grains, and grasses. And the only rain that was falling today was the rain of snot and tears from my face, courtesy of an overloaded immune system trying to cope with the menagerie of agricultural bounty.

Lots of greenery to be seen today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
More farmland (and sneezing).
Heart 0 Comment 0
I had to post this picture because it was just so bad.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After about 25 miles of riding I stopped at a great little Mennonite bakery in Halsey. There were lots of Mennonite families in the area, and earlier in the day I stopped at a huge community garage sale they were having.

I ate all 20 ounces of this delicious bread within 3 hours. No regrets.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After this lovely stop, I continued on into Coburg, and thus officially finished part 1 of the TransAm! Yay! It was only a few more miles before getting into Eugene. Once there, I stopped at REI for my free tuneup, and (finally) got some rain pants.

Afterwards, I made my way to my warmshower host's place, which is where things got pretty cool. Warmshowers, for those of you who don't know, is a free couchsurfing app specific to cyclists.

My host Rachel was part of an "eco-village, and I was put up in their guest cottage. The entire place is full of gardens and earthen buildings. All very hippie-dippie, but unique. I'm definitely enjoying the experience and very grateful!

My humble cottage for the night.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Inside the abode.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Once I was settled down and used the outdoor shower, Rachel and her partner asked me too join them in a cycling flash mob, which was being organized to celebrate the opening of new bike lanes in town. How could I refuse? So I went to their costume closet and put on a penguin suit.

Sometimes life takes you funny places. Like biking through an unfamiliar town in a penguin suit with people you just met.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Even though we were the only ones dressed up, we had a blast. Afterwards, we headed to a brewery for a cold beer, where I watched one of the best guitarists I've ever seen.

While at the eco-village, one of the older inhabitants told me, in his sage, calming voice, to "be well." Well, sir, I am. I truly am.

Today's ride: 50 miles (80 km)
Total: 264 miles (425 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0