DAY 47: rest day in Farmington - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

July 15, 2016

DAY 47: rest day in Farmington

After much deliberation, I decided to take a rest day. It's been 11 days since I last took one, and in that time I've covered close to 1000 miles across Colorado, Kansas, and Missouri. So I guess you could say that I've earned it. Plus, I'm WAY ahead of schedule, and I'm still firm on arriving in Yorktown on August 10.

The downside of taking a rest day right now, however, is that a heat wave is making its way across the Midwest. I'll lose a day of cycling in slightly-cooler weather. Alas, I figured it's going to be hot either way, so I may as well feel well-rested and relaxed when the weather comes to fry me.

I spent the morning at Al's Place doing various things: updating the blog, catching up on emails/news/YouTube/etc, and drinking too much coffee. I shipped my cold-weather clothing home, got a bite to eat downtown, and relaxed. By 1pm, several other cyclists started to trickle in, and we enjoyed talking to one another, sharing stories, and giving each other recommendations for eateries and places to stay.

The inside of Al's Place. It's a must-visit if you're on the TransAm!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Farmington is a cool town!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I did laundry (thank goodness), so while it was drying I found this shirt lying around.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I had the pleasure of talking with David and Sabrina. They're headed west, but instead of taking the TransAm the whole way, they'll be continuing on the western express across Utah, Nevada, and California. Sweet!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I. Feel. Great. Taking this rest day was a great decision. After looking over the maps, it appears that the last three sections will consist of shorter days. I also noticed that the route will take me within 2 miles of the Tennessee border, so I'll dip down there to camp for an evening. I'm especially excited for this day because the campsite is at the base of Butt Mountain. You read that right. I'll be spending an evening in the near future near Butt Mountain, Tennessee. The inner middle schooler is thrilled.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0