DAY 46: Ellington to Farmington: "I'm convinced that armadillos exist only as roadkill" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

July 14, 2016

DAY 46: Ellington to Farmington: "I'm convinced that armadillos exist only as roadkill"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 60.44

Average Speed: 12.3 mph

Maximum Speed: 35.9 mph

Have I ever slept so soundly? I think not. The room was frigid (read: perfect), and I didn't want to leave. Alas, there's a trail that needs riding, so I had a quick breakfast and was rolling by 8.

It was MUCH easier today, so I just mindlessly pounded away the miles. As a result, I didn't take too many pictures. The terrain was still hilly, but less-so than yesterday. Plus, it had cooled down! One observation from the day: roadkill. It has been EVERYWHERE in Missouri, and has mainly been armadillos and skunks. To add to this, they've all been marinating in the hot sun, so the passing smell is just atrocious.

Ah, much better riding today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This little shack reminded me of one of the buildings on the "Pirates of the Caribbean" ride at Disneyland. Funny how memories come up like that.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I made it to Farmington by 2pm and went to Al'so Place, a local hostel. I'd been told by many passing cyclists to stay here, so I had a look. IT'S. AWESOME.

The hostel is located on the second story of an old jail!
Heart 0 Comment 0

To add to this great setting, my aunt and uncle (who live in Texas) surprised me with some pizza that was delivered to the hostel. Thank you Mike and Julie! Every calorie counts!

After dinner, I ran to the store to restock on bulk foods. Unfortunately, I emphasized "bulk" a little too much during my shopping spree, and I spent a considerable amount of time reorganizing my panniers. Remember, I may be saving some money on food, but I also have to carry it all with me. There's a fine line between savings and suffering!

Today's ride: 60 miles (97 km)
Total: 3,171 miles (5,103 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0