DAY 4: Willamina to Corvallis: "A moist tour of the Willamette Valley" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

June 2, 2016

DAY 4: Willamina to Corvallis: "A moist tour of the Willamette Valley"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 54.26

Average Speed: 10.75mph

Maximum Speed: 29.5mph

I made it through the night! It rained a fair bit, and it was still raining when I took down camp, so I prepped myself for a soggy day. Then, before leaving town, I stopped to get some coffee and donuts at a little cafe. When I told the folks where I was headed, they offered me everything for free! So, despite the initial impression I had of the town, Willamina ended up being pretty good (and cheap).

The ride was pretty non-eventful. Lots of rolling farmland through the Willamette Valley.

Despite not having rain pants, I thoroughly enjoyed today's ride.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lots of delicious, rainy road grime to wipe up!
Heart 0 Comment 0
TINY CHRISTMAS TREES
Heart 0 Comment 0

I made it to Corvallis, had some pizza near Oregon State University, and then meandered over to a fellow Whitman student's house (thanks Sam!). Tomorrow, I have another short ride to Eugene, where I'll take a full rest day as I wait for Nicole. I'm happy to report that these short days have been pretty easy overall, so I'm not too worried about upping the distance once Nicole is here.

Last thing: despite the poor food choices that I've been making (donuts, pizza, cookies, etc) I've still lost 3 pounds! I guess I need to eat more. Any suggestions are welcome!

Today's ride: 54 miles (87 km)
Total: 214 miles (344 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0