DAY 36: rest day in Eads: "The joy of self-reliance and independence" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

July 3, 2016

DAY 36: rest day in Eads: "The joy of self-reliance and independence"

Happy Fourth of July! I woke up this morning to a barrage of birds tweeting. Not a bad start to the day.

I spent the majority of the morning and early afternoon organizing my panniers (a never-ending job), giving the bike a tune up, and cleaning myself and my clothes.

I took everything off the bike to give it a good cleaning and tune up.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I found a hose under a large pavillion that I used to wash my clothes and (to my relief and the relief of others) take what I would call a "poor man's shower."

Laundry time!
Heart 0 Comment 0
It felt so good to take a cold "shower" in the heat of the morning!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Drying my clothes on the fence that goes around the horse track. It was odd, and somewhat unsettling, being at the fairgrounds all alone. No one showed up while I was camping.
Heart 0 Comment 0

In many ways it is immensely gratifying to be so independent and self-reliant. Here I am at a desolate fairground, using a hose for my laundry, hygiene, and hydration. I can confidently say that the greatest joys on this trip have been the simplest little things, be they a wave of a passing driver, the curiosity of those that ask me questions, or this: a simple hose. I guess being on the road has a way of making you appreciate life's little joys and convenience. It's just marvelous.

On a separate note, LOOK AT THIS TAN. I'm sure Kansas is only going to make it better (and by better I mean mUchiha, much worse).
Heart 0 Comment 0
These legs are looking mighty beautiful.
Heart 0 Comment 0

My solitary happiness was briefly shattered when, around 1pm, the town tornado siren went off. I nearly crapped my biking bibs with fear when I realized it was just a test. I guess I'm truly in the Midwest.

After my clothes had finished drying, I packed up my stuff and went to check out the town park to see if there were any other cyclists. Right before leaving the fairgrounds, look at what I found!

My petite churping neighbors.
Heart 0 Comment 0

There were in fact two new cyclists in town, Jeff and Martin, so I'll be camping with them tonight. After chatting with them for a bit, I went for a swim at the public pool and then went out to eat at a little roadside diner. All in all I was feeling quite American, and was throughly enjoying my Fourth of July in this small, high-plains town.

My waitress handed me this Prairie Horizons Trail map and information sheet. The additude these tiny communities have towards cyclists is great!
Heart 0 Comment 0

After dinner I set up camp just across from the library with the two cyclists from before, AND my Italian friend Roberto, who had just recently showed up. It was a warm, summery evening, and just as the sun was setting I biked back to the fairgrounds to watch the fireworks.

Fellow cyclists in town for the evening.
Heart 0 Comment 0
What a lovely city park to call home for an evening.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The atmosphere of the small town, coupled with the distant thunderclouds lighting up the prairie sky, made for a magical evening.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0