DAY 33: Hartsel to Florence: - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

July 1, 2016

DAY 33: Hartsel to Florence:

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 66.79

Average Speed: 14.5 mph

Maximum Speed: 37.3 mph

Today was a wet, wet day. I woke up to overcast skies, but after fruitless trying to dry my tent and panniers, the rain started up. But it was pretty pleasant, and made the first 15 miles somewhat peaceful and enjoyable. The rain stopped just as I was finishing up my ride through Colorado piedmont.

I then started a rapid descent from abut 9500 feet to 5000 feet. I stopped for lunch in Guffey, a small town just off-route. There, a wonderful family welcomed me to their table and bought me my lunch.

Such a great little town full of such generous people! Thank you for the meal and company!
Heart 0 Comment 0

After leaving Guffey I continued my descent. About two-thirds of the way into this descent, I was hit by a ferocious burst of rain and pea-sized hail. It was unlike any rain or hail I had ever experienced. It only lasted about 5 minutes, but it felt like I had jumped into a pool.

The fateful cloud burst right before making me a very, very soggy man.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Luckily I was dry within 15-20 minutest after the shower ended.

I made it to Cañon City, had some coffee, and fruitlessly tried to make it to Florence. But in the 9 miles I has to go, more lightning, rain, wind, and a tornado warning hindered my progress. I took shelter in the public bathroom at Pathfinder Park, and informed the sheriff that I would be there to wait things out.

The storm passed, but I figured I would stay at the park, since it had water, electricity, restrooms, and a big pavillion to sleep under (what more could a cyclist ask for?). I dried my still-damp equipment outside and made dinner under the pavillion. Just after dark, however, the wind, rain, and lightning started up again, so I chose to set up camp in the bathroom (which, for you germaphobes, was actually quite clean). I'm hoping for no more rain tomorrow! Perhaps I'll get an early start to the day.

Ah, the many glamours of bike touring.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 67 miles (108 km)
Total: 2,159 miles (3,475 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0