DAY 26: Jackson to Dubois: "Bittersweet goodbyes and bonkers wind" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

June 24, 2016

DAY 26: Jackson to Dubois: "Bittersweet goodbyes and bonkers wind"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 61.04

Average Speed: 12.6mph

Maximum Speed: 37.7mph

Sigh. After having such a fun, relaxing time in Driggs, I had to hit the road. The departure was especially emotional since I don't know when I'll see Caleb next. I'm hoping he can visit while I'm working as a Fulbrighter in Mexico!

We had an early breakfast and drove back to Teton National Park. There, we took a FRIGID dip in String Lake, ate lunch, and said our temporary goodbyes. I'm gonna miss this guy!

Couldn't be happier. Thank you Caleb and the Moosman family for being such great, hospitable folks!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Entering the Tetons for the second time.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I set off at the spot where I initially turned on to the Teton Spur. Today's ride took me almost directly east (finally some true progress in the right direction!) over Togwotee Pass, the second-highest pass on the TransAm. With my body feeling well-rested, the climb was easy, albeit very breezy. And look at that view!

It's tough to make progress when you keep stopping to look back!
Heart 0 Comment 0
"Bears on road." Great. Luckily I didn't have any trouble, but apparently some other cyclists did a few days earlier!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Almost at the top! The altitude actually started to hit me a bit above 9000 feet.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Only Hoosier Pass in the Rockies is higher!
Heart 0 Comment 0

The winds were just ripping at my back on the descent, so I made it into Dubois in no time at all. I stayed in an Episcopalian church with several other cyclists, including Roberto, a Niel Young-loving Italian fellow. We chatted a lot about music despite our communication barrier.

The descent from Togwotee was nice and cool! Thank you clouds for saving my skin from further UV assault.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The area around Dubois looked a lot like the Painted Hills in central Oregon.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Roberto, as I learned through our mixed English/Spanish/Italian conversation, is a garener from northern Italy and is also doing the TransAm eastbound. Nice guy with a great taste in music!
Heart 0 Comment 0

So, back on the road again. How does it feel? It feels liberating. It feels bittersweet. It feels new again. All these sentiments mix into one to create a sense of awe with every push of the pedals and every passing mile.

Today's ride: 61 miles (98 km)
Total: 1,591 miles (2,560 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0