DAY 22: Beaver Creek Campground to Grant Village (Yellowstone NP, Wyoming): "Doing what tourists do in Yellowstone National Park" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

June 20, 2016

DAY 22: Beaver Creek Campground to Grant Village (Yellowstone NP, Wyoming): "Doing what tourists do in Yellowstone National Park"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 81.54

Average Speed: 11.5mph

Maximum Speed: 36.2mph

I woke up today ready to conquer the madness that is summertime in Yellowstone National Park. I'd heard bad things about cycling there (narrow shoulders, bad drivers, etc), so I was a little apprehensive.

Both Jeff and Greg took some time to pray for me and bless me as I continue my journey. I'm not a particularly religious guy, but to know that these two men (who were but strangers to me 12 hours before) were compelled to give me such a send-off was truly meaningful.

Heart 0 Comment 0

So, blessed and content, I hit the road. Along the way to the park entrance, I convened with several Canadians making their ways back to Ontario.

The ride leading up to the West Yellowstone entrance.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We stopped at a bakery to fuel up before hitting the park.

Always fun to check off a new national park and state!
Heart 0 Comment 0
On to state number 4 of the TransAm!
Heart 0 Comment 0

The ride into Yellowstone started off beautiful and just kept getting better. I wound my way through the Madison River Valley before turning south towards the famous thermal features.

This valley is amazing!
Heart 0 Comment 0

With only a few hours in the park, I had to prioritize the features I could see. I was awed by the first little one I saw by the side of the road and had to stop.

Stuff like this just lines the roadside here! It's amazing!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I walked around the Grand Prismatic Spring, several small geysers, some bubbling mud pits, and fumaroles. The crowds were huge, but I didn't mind too much. The scenery kept me occupied.

Geyeser!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just outside of the Grand Prismatic Spring. You could feel the heat every time the wind switched directions.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Proof that I was in fact here.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The famous Grand Prismatic Spring. So many colors!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another view.
Heart 0 Comment 0
More evidence of my presence.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another spring. It looks like it would be great for snorkeling, but alas it was nearlush boiling.
Heart 0 Comment 0

My final stop was at Old Faithful. I grabbed some ice cream and mingled until the next eruption. It was imy restive, and I felt oddly patriotic.

Strawberry ice cream on a long warm day is always a good choice.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Given the waning light, I high tailed it over the continental divide twice before descending into Grant Village. While I was technically still in the park, I wish I had more time to explore the park's other sections and to see more wildlife. I guess it gives me reason to come back!

Heart 0 Comment 0

I was also pleasantly surprised with the cycling in the park. In spite of the crowds, it wasn't as bad as I expected. Tomorrow I head to Jackson, Wyoming via Grand Teton National Park.

Today's ride: 82 miles (132 km)
Total: 1,450 miles (2,334 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0