DAY 21: Twin Bridges to Beaver Creek Campground: "Tonight for dinner: mosquitoes" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

June 19, 2016

DAY 21: Twin Bridges to Beaver Creek Campground: "Tonight for dinner: mosquitoes"

DAILY STATS (it reset again on me...)

Mileage: ~91

Average Speed: 12mph

Maximum Speed: 38.7mph

Phew. Two back-to-back 90+ mile days. Why the rush? Read on and you'll see.

I mosied around camp, updated the blog, bummed the WiFi from a grocery store, and left by 11:15.

The canola was in full bloom.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stopped in Alder to chat with a friend before pushing through "vigilante" territory. This road, years back, was saturated with stagecoach robbers and vigilantes.

I climbed a bit from Virginia City before descending into the Madison River Valley.

This may have been my best view yet.
Heart 0 Comment 0
What a view!
Heart 0 Comment 0

The ride along the base of the mountains was unbelievably beautiful, minus the slow headwinds.

Slowly turning towards Yellowstone.
Heart 0 Comment 0

This road took me along the river valley and then towards Yellowstone. I planned on camping near the river, but after stopping and being eaten alive by mosquitoes, I decided to press on to higher grounds. This was an interesting choice to make.

Beauty. Mosquitoes included for free.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I made my way past Earthquake Lake, the site of anowhere earthquake that made a lake and killed 23 people.

The landslide that created the lake.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was getting dark, and I was exhausted. This created a problem for me. If I went at a comfortable slow speed (as I wanted to), the mosquitoes would pursue me with vigor. But if I sped up enough to escape them, I would start breaking heavily through my mouth and eating them. I this pursued a terrible unhappy medium between the two options, and ended up getting bitten up AND eating enough bugs to feed me for dinner.

I made it into camp, exhausted after my ride. Two campers, Jeff and Greg, ate kind enough to open up their site to me so I didn't have to pay. And I PASSED OUT.

Luckily, I'll be taking two rest days in Driggs, Idaho, in just a few days. I have to push it a bit to get to Jackson, Wyoming to get there though!

Today's ride: 91 miles (146 km)
Total: 1,368 miles (2,202 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0