Day 20: Wisdom to Twin Bridges: "When life gives you headwinds, remember: they'll soon be tailwinds" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

June 18, 2016

Day 20: Wisdom to Twin Bridges: "When life gives you headwinds, remember: they'll soon be tailwinds"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 95.12

Average Speed: 14 2

Maximum Speed: 41.6

Wow. What is to say of this day? It was challenging, yet rewarding; bittersweet, yet liberating; long, yet so, so enjoyable.

I awoke from a deep slumber amidst the depths of my many blankets, content with my first night in weeks spent on a mattress.

We spent some time wandering around Jackson, went out to breakfast, and packed up my stuff. We then backtracked 18 miles to Wisdom, where we said our (temporary) goodbyes. I'm the luckiest son in the world.

Jackson was a pretty neat little town.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Happy faces in beautiful places.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Land of 10,000 haystacks and 10 million mosquitoes.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I got on the road back towards Jackson (I insist on biking the WHOLE TransAm), and was met with ferocious ~30mph headwinds out of the south. For the first 30 miles I grumpily coped with them. But then, ever so slowly, my route started to take a turn towards the northeast. And this turn made ALL the difference.

Go away headwinds.
Heart 0 Comment 0
At least the view was good!
Heart 0 Comment 0

With this slow turn, my headwinds slowly became side winds, which then slowly became tailwinds. I could see as my average speed crept upward from about 9mph to more than 14mph. I was flyin', and feeling great.

This must be why they call this place "big sky country." This was taken as I was hauling down into Dillon, Montana.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I made it to Dillon, my intended destination, and decided to push on to Twin Bridges. I averaged about 20mph along the 28 mile stretch, and made it to the famous cyclist campground before dark. In spite of my 1pm start, I completed just over 95 miles, had my highest top speed, and highest average speed. AND I was met with good view.

Apparently this campground has really been good for this town. I was happy to spend the night here!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Now THIS is a kitchen with a view.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It just goes to show you: when life gives you headwinds, remember that they'll soon be tailwinds.

Today's ride: 95 miles (153 km)
Total: 1,277 miles (2,055 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0