DAY 2: Nehalem Bay State Park to Pacific City: "Ominous Bunnies and 50 Shades of Green" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

May 31, 2016

DAY 2: Nehalem Bay State Park to Pacific City: "Ominous Bunnies and 50 Shades of Green"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 61.24

Average Speed: 11.45mph

Maximum Speed: 36.4mph

Today was an EXCELLENT day of riding. After a short walk on the beach and a warm breakfast, I said goodbye to my Canadian neighbors and was on the road by 9:15. And what a road it was. Around every turn was a new view of at least 50 shades of green. It was marvelous, and I was feeling great.

One of the many beautiful views from today's ride
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lots of blue as well! Overlooking Tillamook Bay
Heart 0 Comment 0
At Rockaway Beach, I took a quick jaunt off the road and dipped my back wheel in the Pacific!
Heart 0 Comment 0

About 25 miles into the day I stopped at the lactose-intolerant hell of the Tillamook Cheese Factory. I did a little self-tour, got some free cheese samples and some cinnamon-horchata ice cream, and enjoyed the sunshine. To other cyclists, make sure to stop here. There's some interesting history, and the food it a great mid-ride boost.

'nuf said
Heart 0 Comment 0

After this lovely stop, I pedaled on, stopping at a few overlooks and points-of-interest. It was nice to not be constrained by time, as I was yesterday. The climb from Lookout Point was a time to throw my bike into granny gear and zone out. But I was rewarded with the fast descent into the next town. I'm definitely looking forward to more of those.

A nice view climbing out of Cape Lookout.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just one of the many hills to come on this journey. I've heard cyclists refer to Missouri as "misery" because the whole state is like this. We'll see in a bit!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I ended the day in Pacific City, where I camped at Webb Campground (pricey, but nice). Oddly enough, the campground was overrun with black bunnies. Is it an omen? What does it mean? So far, I've counted at least 50 if them. I wanted to keep going, but given the time and progress I've made, I figured I should stop. This was my first 60+mile day, and I feel great. I'll finally start making my way inland tomorrow, and I've set the (modest) goal of getting to Willamina.

Home for the evening. My neighbors were all headed to San Francisco. Still have yet to meet any fellow TransAm riders.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 61 miles (98 km)
Total: 108 miles (174 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0