Day 19: Hamilton to Wisdom: Screaming like a little girl, drinking a surprise beer, hanging out with family, and checking out my tan" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

June 17, 2016

Day 19: Hamilton to Wisdom: Screaming like a little girl, drinking a surprise beer, hanging out with family, and checking out my tan"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 78.06

Average Speed: 11.9

Maximum Speed: 35.5

Flat Count: 1

I woke up this morning to clear, crisp skies-- the perfect weather for biking. It had been a cold night, especially since I didn't set up my tent, so I was wearing all my layers. As I was rousing myself from my slumber and slowly peeling off my many clothes, a black lab from a neighboring camper snuck up behind me. I screamed, thinking it was a bear. I quickly realized it wasn't, and felt rather foolish for my reaction. But at least I wasn't bear breakfast.

After this startling wake-up, I got on the road. Today I had to pedal over my highest pass to date: Chief Joseph Pass. I plugged away (as I am now accustomed to), stopping briefly only to refuel and repair a pinch flat on my front wheel (so much for being flat-free...).

Great views of the Bitterroot Mountains today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The beauty never ends. Every turn in the road is a new wonder.
Heart 1 Comment 0

While mindlessly trudging up the last part of the pass, a VW wagin pulled up to my side. These two wonderful folks cheered me on and gave me a (delicious) Montana honey ale to enjoy at the summit.

These folks know how to make a cyclist happy. Thanks for the beer!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Made it!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Part of the descent. I'd love to come back here to camp one day.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After summiting and crossing the continental divide, I descended 20 miles into Wisdom, where I met my parents. They drove me and my bike to Jackson, where we stayed in the Jackson Hot Springs Lodge, ate a full meal, and soaked in the hot springs. An excellent end to an excellent day. Tomorrow they'll take me back to Wisdom to continue my trek!

Hot springs are literally the best.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Eating real people food (not just beans and noodles).
Heart 0 Comment 0

On an entirely separate note, my bad tan is coming along nicely. My thighs and calves have also changes significantly, and I've lost about 7 pounds. Got to keep eating I guess!

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 78 miles (126 km)
Total: 1,182 miles (1,902 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0