DAY 13: Woodhead Park to New Meadows: "Today quite literally blew me away" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

June 11, 2016

DAY 13: Woodhead Park to New Meadows: "Today quite literally blew me away"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 73.42

Average Speed: 12.1mph

Maximum Speed: 37.7mph

How's this for a startling wake-up: at 1am, my tent collapsed onto me due to some ferocious winds coming up the Snake River Valley. I had to rouse myself out of my down-induced slumber and wrangle my tent. Rather conveniently, both of my Norwegian friends had similar problems, so we all stumbled together. Eventually, after stepping on a few thorns and cursing at my tent stakes, all was secured and I crawled back in to my nylon-poyester fortress.

After a much calmer morning routine I left camp and made my way out of the valley. It was smooth, uneventful riding for most of the day.

Leaving the desert-esque valley.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Probably my favorite view of the day. The fact that it was just after the end of a climb didn't hurt either.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The barns are pretty cool too.
Heart 0 Comment 0
It may be pretty, but I was also fighting a solid headwind. Alas, the going isn't always easy.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I did a few miles on the Weiser River Trail, a gravel alternate. Highly recommend it if you have good tires!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I pulled into New Meadows and set up camp at a public park. Hooray for free camping! I'll make up for it by going out to breakfast tomorrow morning. 

After making dinner, a racer named Martin pulled in. We chatted as I rotated my tires and (clumsily) snapped my inner tube valve stem. Thank goodness I had an extra tube!

Camp for the evening. In most cities, you can call the local sheriff and they'll let you at up camp in the public park. And it's free!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Martin, a TransAm racer from the UK. He fell behind due to mechanical issues, so keep your fingers crossed things go more smoothly for him!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 73 miles (117 km)
Total: 775 miles (1,247 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0