DAY 12: Baker City to Woodhead Park (Idaho): "High tailing it to the border" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

June 10, 2016

DAY 12: Baker City to Woodhead Park (Idaho): "High tailing it to the border"

DAILY STATS:

Mileage: 85.70

Average Speed: 13.1mph

Maximum Speed: 36.4mph

Wow. Today was a whirlwind of a day. I may have to rewrite this post after I digest more of it.

I left Kate's place at about 8:30 and went to Safeway to resupply my veggies, fruit, and coffee. While there, I met Mark Trails (marktrailsrocks.com), a westbound TransAm rider. He has done the triple crown of hiking (PCT, AT, and CDT), and is finishing the triple crown of biking (TransAm, Southern Tier, and Northern Tier). We exchanged a ton of info, AND (most importantly) he said we should have great tailwinds. Knock on wood.

This guy was awesome. Thanks for the info Mark!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was finally on the road by 10am, and wanted to make up time. I'll be alone from here on out, but reconvening with folks along the way. I found that I like it more that way.

Ruts from wagons traveling the Oregon Trail.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The weather was cool, the scenery beautiful, and the winds at my back. A rancher handed me a cold water while I was stopped to change my map. I continue to be awed by the altruism of others.

Eastern Oregon is such a wild place.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Farmland approaching Richland.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stopped in Richland for lunch. While there, an older man came up to me and asked "want to learn a magic trick?"

How could I say no?

I learned the trick, and departed, hoping to make it to Oxbow before the funky weather came in. The climb out of town was rainy and windy, so much so that I had to be very proactive on slowing myself on the descent.

Glad I'm not down in town anymore! I still got some rain and winds though...blegh.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Taking a quick break in Halfway, Oregon. Idaho is close. I can taste it.
Heart 0 Comment 0

When I got to Oxbow, after 67 miles, I was feeling great. I decided to push on. Plus, I wanted to get to Idaho. So I forged on for ~20 more miles and crossed into Idaho at Brownlee Dam. Yay! I'm stoked with the distance and progress I made.

One down, eight to go. Bring it on, Idaho.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I camped at Woodhead Campground with Ryan and T, two Norwegians doing the TransAm east tov west. We shared stories and exchanged information.

So what is to say about this day? It was long and intense, but probably my most rewarding day yet. Here's to more.

Not a bad view to have. Plus, my camp mates paid for it!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 86 miles (138 km)
Total: 702 miles (1,130 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0