DAY 10: Mitchell to Prairie City: "Riding on the back of the looming storms" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

June 8, 2016

DAY 10: Mitchell to Prairie City: "Riding on the back of the looming storms"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 82.67

Average Speed: 13.7

Maximum Speed: 37.9

Flat Count: 1

After a quick, light breakfast and some goodbyes, we left the hostel at 5:30am, hoping to beat the heat. Nicole and I rode with two other guests for the day, but for much of the ride I would pedal ahead and enjoy the solitude. I'm quickly learning that I love biking on my own, but enjoying the company during the evenings.

Getting up this early was tough, but definitely worth it. Our largeresearchers group killed it today!
Heart 0 Comment 0

The first ~7 miles of climbing felt great in the cool morning air, especially since it had rained the previous night. The descent, per usual, was exhilarating, and it took us through some epic canyon scenery. By only 9:30 we had made it 38 miles to Dayville, so we stopped and had a more filling meal. My breakfast wrap, biscuit, and coffee hit the spot, and it was a steal in terms of price.

Bikes bikes bikes bikes bikes.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lots of pedaling and good meals makes Jeremy a happy guy.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We rolled out of Dayville and pedaled on to Mount Vernon. Along the way, I got my first flat. Drat. Luckily, it occurred just feet from the only visible shade, so I hobbled over and got started patching.

Within seconds of me taking my wheel off, a couple stopped by, offered me food, water, a ride to town, and money. I was blown away by their generosity and desire to help. I took an ice water, and finished patching my tire.

This flat tire ultimately helped restore my faith in humanity. Thanks for the offer for assistance, random folks!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not a bad place to have to fix a flat.
Heart 0 Comment 0

At our next rest stop we were warned of severe thunderstorms and tornado warnings coming our way. After much debate, we decided to press on. We rode on the back of the looming storm, and as a result had EPIC tailwinds into Prairie City. We set up camp at the Depot RV Park (an excellent place, btw), exhausted, but content.

I made my darn noodles and beans, gave my neighbor's recumbent bike a spin (it was great!) and read in my new tent.

It's good to be alive.

My face as thunderstorms slowly began creepin' up on us. At least the tailwinds were great!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pulling into Prairie City. I've backpacker around those mountains and summitted the highest one, Strawberry Mountain.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Home for the evening. No rain and lots of company!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mmm...my bad tan and beautiful legs are coming together nicely (except for the road grime. Blegh.).
Heart 0 Comment 0

NOTE: I learned today thato my camera lens has been smeared with sunscreen, thus the hazy pics. Hopefully they'll be clearer tomorrow!

Today's ride: 83 miles (134 km)
Total: 548 miles (882 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0