DAY 1: Astoria to Nehalem Bay State Park: "How to violently throw up in front of two Canadians, but still have a great day" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

May 30, 2016

DAY 1: Astoria to Nehalem Bay State Park: "How to violently throw up in front of two Canadians, but still have a great day"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 47.47 miles

Average speed: 11.3mph

Top Speed: 32.9mph

We'll, here we go!

After hitching a bus ride to Astoria, I departed from the Columbia River Maritime Museum (one of two official TransAm starting points) around 1:15pm. Unfortunately, this point was not conducive to dipping a rear wheel in the Pacific, but if I come across a good point in the next few days I'll give it a go. Keep your eyes peeled.

Beautiful weather for a start, especially because I forgot my rain pants!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Agreed.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Besides getting lost in the first two miles, riding was smooth overall. There was lots of traffic because of Memorial Day, but with my new/attractive cycling mirror, all was well. The Oregon Coast is BEAUTIFUL. The highlight of the day was definitely the view before the descent into Manzanita.

Right before descending into Manzanita. I was hurtin' in this picture.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I had not been wise with my food or water while riding, so once I got to Nehalem Bay State Park  (which I HIGHLY recommend for future cyclists), I chugged some water and ate a handful of trail mix.

Mistake.

My tummy began a rumblin' and a tumblin', but I ignored it and naively went to say hello to my new neighbors, a lovely Canadian couple cycling from Vancouver to San Francisco. After chatting for a bit and hitting things off, I violently spewed my hasty water and trail mix snack. Luckily, I felt excellent afterwards, and had more room for dinner. So, future word of note: don't drink or eat too fast.

After dinner, my neighbors were kind enough to ignore my previous expulsion and invited me over to chat. It was lovely, and I look forward to seeing them on the road.

So, despite a few minor mishaps that are to be expected on a trip of this length, my first day riding was excellent. I'm excited for tomorrow!

Nehalem Beach. Apparently a missile washed up last night, so there's just a Ranger chillin' with it.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The mosquitoes were AWFUL, but the campsite was wonderful (especially for only $6).
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 47 miles (76 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0