CLOSING THOUGHTS - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

August 9, 2016

CLOSING THOUGHTS

Phew. What a whirlwind journey this has been. I am now updating this blog for the final time from Calkiní, Campeche, México, where I will be serving as a Fulbright English teaching assistant for the coming year. My TransAm journey gave me a great appreciation for the diverse landscapes and people of the US, and I am excited to share these thoughts, observations, and opinions with my students.

Of course, this blog wouldn´t be complete unless I updated you on the quality of my bad tan and beautiful legs. At the end of my trip, my thighs had grown by approximately 3mm in circumference, which paled in comparison to my expectations. As for my bad tan? Well, it´s a difficult thing to quantify, so I´ll just say that it is in fact awful, and that it will probably stay this way for a long time to come. Perhaps, in fact, until my next tour...

Speaking of which, I have already been daydreaming about my next grand tour. Now that I´ve completed the TransAm (as my first tour, no less), I feel like I can conquer pretty-much anything. I´m most interested in the Pacific Coast route from Vancouver, B.C. to Tijuana, B.C. and/or the Western Express from Pueblo, CO to San Francisco, CA. But, for at least the near future, I see myself doing shorter trips around Southern California, perhaps in Death Valley, Joshua Tree, or Anza Borrego.

The world is a beautiful place, and gosh darn it I want to experience it from the seat of my bike. It is my sincere hope that, by sharing my journey here, others will feel inspired to pedal further and experience the same joys that I came to know so intimately while on the road.

Until next time,

Jeremy Nolan

"Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs"

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0