In Vence: the lost days - Three Seasons Around France: Autumn - CycleBlaze

November 26, 2022 to November 27, 2022

In Vence: the lost days

So the chilly descent from Col de Vence did it to it, and no further biking from Vence happened until we left town.  Rachael went on her own for another pair of energetic hikes, while I sat and lay out the final two days of our stay here, staying hydrated, getting plenty of rest, and giving my all to the goal of getting my health back before out flight home.  Gone were plans for another ride with Rachael and another solo ride for myself, as well as plans to explore the town.  Five nights in Vence, and I don’t even have any photos of the town to show for it because I didn’t have the energy to walk around and check it out.  What a waste of an opportunity and another pair of beautiful late autumn days.

Fortunately Rachael was at full strength and even after hiking the hills all day was up to the task of rustling up takeout pizza for a meal down in the hotel lobby.

I did at least look out the window at the market square from time to time.  I didn’t check to see if there was roasted chicken but it wouldn’t surprise me to have found it there.

Place du Marche, Vence. I’ve got a ringside seat to all the action. Nothing to complain about there!
Heart 1 Comment 0

For the record, here are the planned rides that were scrapped.  If I can talk Rachael into coming back up to Vence for a few days in the future, here’s what I was thinking.  Maybe some year, and maybe not quite so late in it - before it gets too cold, and before boar-hunting season.

On Saturday, Rachael and I planned an out and back west to Grasse and beyond, until we came to just the right distance so that it felt time to turn back. Maybe just enough to make it a 41.5 mile ride, rounding to 42.
Heart 0 Comment 0
On Sunday I planned to bike back up to Col de Vence, climbing up that seven mile descent I just dropped down. From there I was going to head west to the Loup Gourge, take the spur up to the aerie village of Gourdon, and then make my way home from there. That still looks like a wonderful day ride, hopefully one I can make someday.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0