Around Salzburg - Cycling the Austrian Alps on a recumbent - CycleBlaze

September 1, 2018

Around Salzburg

I debated whether or not today was worthy of a journal entry, especially because I haven't even seen my bicycle today. Poor bike. I did take a bunch of pictures though and I suppose people want to live vicariously through them, so here is a brief summary of my day with some pictures. 

First, I slept in. No breakfast is included at my hotel. My last time here they did have a modest breakfast buffet. They obviously ceased to do that at some point so I stocked up last night on rolls, juice, and a kilogram of European plums (they're incredibly good by the way.) I got up long enough to eat a roll and a bunch of plums and then went back to bed. It was raining. Surprise. 

After awhile I got tired of laying in bed so I mixed it up and sat up in bed. Then I ate another roll and some more plums. The cleaning crew here is very noisy. They were either dropping lots of things or throwing things. Either way it was detracting from my efforts to sleep more. 

Early afternoon the rain let up more or less some I wandered out and did a bit of hiking on the Kapuzinerberg which is almost literally behind my hotel. It's a steep walk up one of the little mountains in Salzburg. At the top is a monastery and some old fortifications. There's a bunch of woods that I wandered through on paths until it started raining harder so I headed back. By the time I got back down it had ceased to rain and was giving signs of halting the moisture for a bit. The Mirabel gardens were close by as well so I wandered over there. 

Wandering up the Kapuzinerberg
Heart 1 Comment 0
View across Salzburg
Heart 1 Comment 0
Festung Hohensalzburg
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Quite a lot of tourists were also wandering through the gardens and a wedding party were taking pictures there. Getting a photo without tourists in it is literally impossible. It's more a matter of deciding which tourists you want I'm your photos. The group of middle aged Asian women was particularly amusing to watch taking photos of themselves as a group. Spunky ladies. Then there are all the selfie takers and even a dad videoing his family walking through the gardens. 

Mirabell gardens
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 1
Kathy ParkeWow! Amazing gardens!!!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

After the gardens I decided I'd had enough of tourists so I retreated back to my hotel room and napped. Being a tourist is hard work after all!

This evening I wandered back up to the Kapuzinerberg with my good camera and practiced taking night shots of the bishop's fortress. I don't have a tripod with and had to get creative using the wall as my tripod. Not ideal, but I think I have some photos I can work with. Sorry, they're not accessible right now and won't be appearing here any time soon. 

Not the view from my good camera
Heart 1 Comment 0
Also not from my good camera
Heart 1 Comment 0

And that's what I did today. It's not very exciting and that's ok. I've been out in the rain enough for one trip. All told, I think this trip has actually involved more rain for longer periods than my 2nd trip. That trip at least had times most days where it briefly cleared and gave me great views. This trip it's been either great weather, or terrible weather. Not much in between. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0