Pictures of Rust - The Hills are Alive (with the sound of wheezing) - CycleBlaze

September 7, 2020

Pictures of Rust

Some low-energy sightseeing at the end of the day

I wheeled very slowly down into the middle of Rust. Nearly the whole place is well-preserved old town. It was early evening, the light was coming down, and the town squares were full of people dining. It had the feel of a wonderful cosmopolitan resort.

Main street, Rust
Heart 0 Comment 0
The evangelist church
Heart 0 Comment 0
Storks are very much the symbol of the town
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rathaus and cobbled town square. Lots of Ortieb panniers about, but I got the impression these were mostly for day rides.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Town square, with lots of alfresco dining
Heart 0 Comment 0
Interesting architectural combinations!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm not a great photographer, but just occasionally I get lucky
Heart 0 Comment 0
The town square began to be warmly lit up as the light came down
Heart 0 Comment 0
Great window. I particularly like the faces on the carved stone supports.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dimming light over the main church
Heart 0 Comment 0
Main church and sundial - not much use at this time of the evening
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sunset over Rust
Heart 2 Comment 0
The empty skate parks, and the vast expanse of reeds beyond looking out into the lake, had a nice empty mournful quality
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wheeling slowly back across the causeway, in the dying light
Heart 1 Comment 0
The marina behind the campsite, with the sunset behind
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking over the marina back to the distant high land in the west - from where we'd come
Heart 2 Comment 0

As I was tooling about the backstreets of Rust at low speed, I squeezed my front brake and realised that it emitted only a sharp rattling sound (and did nothing to stop me). So my breaks had finally given out! I took it very slow back to the campsite - this was the perfect time for them to go, as I had plenty of time tomorrow to fix them up.

I cooked up and ate my Halloumi, and got stuck into some well-earned beers in the cooling dusk. The Storchencamp was pretty silent, and I decided I liked it here very much. A loose plan started to come together - I'd book another nigh here, have a rest day tomorrow (I might ride all the way around the lake). And then maybe head for Slovakia and have a night in Bratislava?

Today's ride: 3 km (2 miles)
Total: 838 km (520 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0