Nothing to do with the Bike Ride - Riding Slowly South - CycleBlaze

May 28, 2021

Nothing to do with the Bike Ride

It's all about the Cake

I'm grinding through the last 4 weeks of work, which is surprisingly busy with last minute succession planning and, believe it or not, actual work. One of the immense privileges of my job is that I get to travel around my district, meeting all sorts of people living in all sorts of circumstances.

Last week I visited an old man living in a tiny town 1.5 hour's drive from a slightly larger town, and as I was leaving the old man's wife offered me cake. A slice of Pineapple Sunshine cake to be precise, and one of which she was very proud too. I cried no time to sit and eat it with them (truth!) so she put it in a takeaway container and pressed it upon me for my later enjoyment. I thanked her and when I got in the car I popped the container in the console between the seats, and promptly forgot about it.


I drove back to the slightly bigger town, parked the car in the sun, and worked the rest of the day. I ate motel biscuits with my bedtime cup of tea, and not a thought of cake entered my mind. The next day I worked all morning, drove back to base, parked the car in the (sunny) car park, filled out the log book, handed in the keys, and went on my merry way with nary a thought of my Pineapple Sunshine cake.


A week slipped easily by.


Today I went out on a home visit. I booked a random car, picked up the keys, hopped into the car, turned it on and in looking for a pen for the log book, opened the console between the seats.


I FOUND MY CAKE!!!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Mike AylingWhat was it like after a week in the car?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Titanium PenguinSurprisingly it was not mouldy (visibly anyway) but was certainly dehydrated and much the worse for wear.
I didn't eat it.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago