My Favourite Bike Shop - Riding Slowly South - CycleBlaze

August 16, 2021 to August 17, 2021

My Favourite Bike Shop

Fixing my Bike

Just one ride so far. Out and back from Swagman's Rest, a quirky campground with a stunning view down the valley to Leyburn. It was a very smelly ride: what with feedlots, free-range chicken farms, and piggeries the fresh air wasn't quite as fresh as it could have been.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Out on the Darling Downs.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Entry to Swagman's Rest, our camping spot just outside of Pittsworth.
Heart 0 Comment 0

A bike shop in Gympie fixed my broken brakes, and during the brief ride to the train station the brakes worked fine, but my gears crunched and skipped and my seat headed south. I grumbled bitterly and blamed the bike shop for fiddling with bits that they didn't need to fiddle with. 

When we got to Toowoomba I took the bike into my favourite bike shop: they sold me the bike and they've serviced it ever since, being very tolerant of my philosophy of riding it until something breaks and then asking them to fix it. They took the bike at short notice and rang me half an hour later.

"You need a new chain, new cogs, and a new rear cassette. " 

Well, I guess I have ridden it to work most days for the past two years, and I have just ridden 400km on mostly gravel, some of it rough, and fully loaded. Maybe the Gympie bike shop wasn't to blame after all.

I went in to pick up the bike. "Your back brakes were stuffed" they said. "We've put in a new rotor, brake pads, and cable." Well some of this was news to me: I didn't know you had a rotor in the brakes. Guess I better watch a few more 'How Your Bike Works' videos on Youtube. "Merry Christmas!" they said. "No extra charge for the brakes."

I like my bike shop.

Today's ride: 27 km (17 miles)
Total: 60 km (37 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Mike AylingHi Catherine
The rotor is the round disc that the brake pads press against to slow you down. Hence the term disc brakes!

Cheers

Mike
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Titanium PenguinTo Mike AylingNow I am found out: I pretend to understand my bike but in reality I just google bits and do what YouTube tells me! Thank you for the elucidation 😊
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jacquie GaudetHi Catherine
Since you are now touring instead of commuting, it would be a good idea to check chain wear periodically. There's a handy tool to check chain "stretch" (really chain wear) that's easy to use. Replacing the chain before it's truly worn out means you won't have to replace the cassette and chainrings so often. Here's a link to more info: https://www.bikeradar.com/features/how-to-know-when-its-time-to-replace-your-bicycle-chain/
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Titanium PenguinTo Jacquie GaudetThanks Jacqui! Learning these things shall be my next project.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago