In Between. - Riding Slowly South - CycleBlaze

May 2, 2021

In Between.

Halfway between Cecil Plains and Tara

We didn't have to pack up camp, which made the morning routine a bit quicker even with the ritual two cups of tea. I dropped Roger back at his yesterday's end point, brought the car back to Cecil Plains, and pedaled out myself.
Now I remember the Cecil Plains-Moonie road as busy with trucks, narrow with sharp edges to the shoulder, and teeming with savage little jump-ups. Of course last time I rode along here I was already tired, was pedaling a fully loaded bike, and had a stiff headwind. None of that applied this time around and I had a very pleasant day tootling along an upgraded road with Sunday traffic, an unloaded bike, the occasional little hill, and a tailwind. Sometimes it's nice to find things have changed from what you remembered.

Hah! No trucks at all today.
Heart 1 Comment 0

All the autumn wattle was coming into bloom and it smelt beautiful. I saw wrens and finches, the occasional Corella, and a couple of dead foxes. There was one bird of prey which I couldn't identify, and several little brown ground dwelling birds which couldn't bring themselves to stay hidden and exploded from the ground as I went past, scaring the living daylights out of me. 

The winner of the Mailbox of the Day award. Note the snake in one hand and the dog at his feet.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Lunch was a peaceful affair in the cypress pine forest.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I stopped when I reached the 50km mark. I'd like to boast and say I could have kept going but the truth is my bum was sore and the last tiny jump up did my legs in. So I parked the bike prominently and settled in to finish my snacks while waiting for the cavalry.

Here comes my ride.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The cavalry arrived in a slightly frustrated state, because he'd just spent 3 hours lurking in the ablutions block back at camp, battling to wrest use of a washing machine from little old ladies. We had to send him out for another quick 30km on the bike, after which he felt much better and could say hello to little old ladies without a severe stress reaction.

We ended the day with hot drinks and chocolate, surrounded by flapping wet washing which we had fastened to every available drying surface.

Today's ride: 50 km (31 miles)
Total: 671 km (417 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0